The Summer Book Tag

Your girl is back from the grave! I haven’t been on for personal reasons, which is why I was MIA last week. But I am back now and here to spread a bit of joy. I’ve missed being on here…I’ve missed you guys so much. You seriously have no clue how grateful I am to have you, even if there’s just a small handful of ya right now. I’m glad to be back, especially as it’s Eid. I hope everyone else who celebrates is having a great day.

As it is Sunday, it’s a book tag day! Summer has recently arrived, so I thought what better way to kick things off than a summer themed book tag? It didn’t take me long to stumble upon abookloversplaylist‘s tag and voila!

Feel free to give this a go. See you Wednesday for a Writing Wednesday post!

xoxo – F

What book cover makes you think of summer?

summer sista

Kinda feels like a cop out to choose a book with the word “summer” in it, but what’s more summer-y than the beach, beach hats, and lawn chairs? When you look at Judy Blume’s Summer Sisters, the first word immediately clicks because that’s what the cover evokes.

What book has brightened your day?

aogg

This shouldn’t be too surprising. My love for Anne of Green Gables runs so deep that I’ve mentioned this book at least three…four…five times (maybe more). I read this book at least once a year and it’s my go-to feel good book because no matter how many times I visit Avonlea, I always feel like I’m going to a magical place even though it’s a real place in Canada.

Name a book with yellow on it.

dream a little

I assume this means yellow on the book cover, so I’m going with one of the prettiest yellow covered book I know. Giovanna Fletcher’s Dream a Little Dream just LOOKS dreamy, doesn’t it? And it’s a deliciously dream read, as well. I finally found a copy and read it recently and absolutely LOVE IT!

What is your favorite summer beach read?

family

This is really hard because I don’t read many “summer beach read” worthy books. I’ve mostly been reading historical fiction lately…I don’t think they count. But if I had to choose, I’d go for Family Pictures. Or any Jane Green book, honstly.

What action book had you running for the ice cream man?

nightingale

A historical fiction novel The Nightingale might be, but there’s so much action packed into this story that it might as well be considered an action book too. I’d run to the ice cream truck to eat away my feels and anticipation. That’s what it’s for, right?

What book has left you with a bad ending?

gone

Because Rhett left Scarlett in the end. I know, major spoiler if you haven’t bothered to read it. I understand it’s over 1000 pages long, but the story sucks you in from the get go. Anyways, he put with so much of her shit that when she finally realized she loved him, it was too late. Ugh, the feels!!!

What book gave you the happiest feeling when it ended?

breaking

Purely because there were no more books in the series after this one. I was just glad it finally ended.

What book cover reminds you of a sunset?

shorebird

I mean…there IS a sunset on the cover…and birds. You look at the book and it’s right there.

What is one book series you hope to read this summer?

The_ACOTAR_series.png

I’ve heard so much about this series and everyone seems to love it. Guess who hasn’t read them at all? Meeeee!! I’m curious as to why everyone loves this series so much, so I might as well give it a go. If I get attached, I blame those of you who keep praising these books. You know who you are.

Leave a comment