Five Favourites

As someone who is just starting out as an indie author, I thought it’d be appropriate for my very first post to be a little “get to know me” type of thing. Yes, I’m a nobody right now, so I thought this would be the perfect way for you guys to get a little glimpse into my interests. All of these lists are current and in no particular order, so they might have already changed by the time you’re reading this.

Books

bam lepetitanneofangelshp

  1. Billy and Me (Giovanna Fletcher) – I’ve always loved Giovanna as a person, so I really wanted to like her debut novel. Needless to say, it did not fail. It’s a beautiful story centered around the relationship of Sophie and Billy, and how she copes with suddenly being thrown into this world of the rich and famous.
  2. Le Petit Prince (Antoine de Saint-Exupéry) – Hands down, the best book I’ve ever read in any of my French classes. It’s a timeless classic that makes you really think about how adults perceive the world versus children.
  3. Anne of Green Gables series (L. M. Montgomery) – I remember reading these books in grade school, immediately falling in love with Anne Shirley and Gilbert Blythe. Re-read them in high school and still love the series to bits and pieces. I’m pretty sure they were my first fictional OTP.
  4. Angels & Demons (Dan Brown) – Out of all the Robert Langdon books, this one stuck with me the most. There’s just something about the incorporation of the Illuminati and the four elements that enticed me to literally not put down the book.
  5. Harry Potter series (JK Rowling) – As a kid growing up in the late 90’s/early 00’s, how could this series NOT make the list?!?!! I think it’s obvious to say that the wizarding world of Harry Potter will be engraved in this generation’s memories forever because it’s had such an impact in our lives.

Bands/Artists

  1. Backstreet Boys – Since I was about 6, their music has been a big part of my life. Ever since I saw the “Quit Playing Games” video, I was hooked. Yes, as a 6-year-old, I knew that there was something special about those five boys. 17 years later, I still support and love their music.
  2. McBusted (McFly/Busted) – This is probably cheating since it’s a two-in-one, but now that they’re a superband, that’s my excuse to fit both bands. I got into McFly after seeing them in Just My Luck in the theaters in 2006. In the movie, they played themselves trying to break America and played their hits “5 Colours in Her Hair” and “I’ve Got You,” both of which, I loved the sound from the first listen. From there, I got hooked and have loved their music ever since. I’ll admit, I got into Busted’s music after the McBusted formation, but grew to love both of their albums, as well.
  3. Stromae – 2010. Senior year of high school. In French class, we’d listen to NRJ. “Alors on Danse” came up almost ALL THE TIME, so it was basically like our class anthem. From there, I looked up his music. The rest is history.
  4. Lights – I just got into her music a few months ago after Idobi kept playing “Up We Go.” I love how raw her voice is. It’s truly one of those voices you can instantly pick out as soon as a song plays. Besides that, she has a great mixture of songs that make you want to dance, songs that make you emotional…her music just speaks to you on so many levels.
  5. Panic! at the Disco – They’re basically my favorite band since they came out. What’s great about them is that, despite the various member changes and criticism, they always manage to make amazing music. Honestly, I know that a lot of people think Pretty.Odd. was one of their worst albums, but if you take the time to appreciate and listen to it, you’ll realize that it’s quite a great album.

Films

hunchback like sunday moulin rougepebble and the penguinamelie

  1. The Hunchback of Notre Dame – Favourite Disney film. Ever. It’s definitely one of those overlooked Disney films because it’s not a princess one. Yet it’s such an amazing film. All of the songs, the scenery, the characters and plotline…just gorgeous and well-done.
  2. Like Sunday, Like Rain – This is obviously the most recent film on this list (I don’t really watch movies anymore unless it catches my attention. Whoops). It’s an amazing indie film that tells the story of a friendship in the most beautiful way. Honestly, Leighton Meester and Julian Shatkin’s performances in this film is astounding. If you haven’t seen it, I highly suggest you should.
  3. Moulin Rouge – I’m a big sucker for musicals, believe it or not. Everything about this film is just beautiful. For those of you who haven’t seen it, it’s quite a Romeo and Juliet tale, but done in such a way that makes you want to legitimately cry. I’ve watched it so many times, but I always cry whenever Satine dies in Christian’s arms. That scene gets me EVERY TIME!
  4. The Pebble and the Penguin – I’m a firm believer that Don Bluth films don’t get the recognition that they deserve because of Disney. They’re all amazing. This one, in particular, is my favourite because there are penguins in it. Also, it goes to show that you don’t have to be conventionally attractive and cool to find your one true love.
  5. Le fabuleux destin d’Amélie Poulain – This is one of those French films that you just HAVE to watch. It’s bound to be a classic.

Television

dwdegrassiggskinsmisfits

  1. DoctorWho – Because who hasn’t been sucked into the world of time travel yet? I only started watching it a couple years ago, but this is one of those series that makes you binge watch until you’re all caught up. Everything about this show just pulls you in.
  2. Degrassi – Back when Drake still went by his real name, this show came out in 2001. I was 9, and it’s still here. I started watching it in middle school and I’ve been hooked ever since. Obviously, the original cast was the best, I actually do keep up with it…it’s had it’s flop moments, but gained back my confidence in the show in seasons 10 and 12.
  3. Gossip Girl – “You know you love me. XOXO Gossip Girl.” I think it was on season 5 when I actually got into it, so I had to play catch up with the first four seasons until I was in tune with it. I loved the way the series ended, but I still can’t believe that Dan Humphery is GG.
  4. Skins – This show was more than teens partying, having sex, and doing drugs. If you’ve actually seen an episode, then you’ll know that each centers around a certain character/episode. It takes you into their struggles from their pov, addressing issues such as substance abuse, bullying, mental disorders, death, and dysfunctional families.
  5. Misfits – What’s so great about a show centered around “delinquents” sentenced to community service who gain supernatural powers from a storm? Everything. It’s quite dark, yet funny. It breaks down stereotypes, and the writing/acting is purely amazing. Each episode makes you wonder what will happen next and how the characters will deal with the situation given.

*I realize that the last three shows have ended, but needless to say, they’re really good and I highly recommend them.

Leave a Reply

