Behind the Novel

I finally have my hands on a physical copy of She Falls Asleep, and I’ve never felt much more accomplished. So, I want to take the time to just give you an insight on how this book was born and what my thought process was.

            Have you ever listened to a song and wondered what was the story behind the lyrics? And have you ever wondered what it would be like beyond the 3-4 minutes of the song? Well, that’s exactly how this book came about.

          One night, I was listening to soothing music to help me sleep when suddenly, McFly’s “She Falls Asleep Part 2” came on. It’s just a stunning song filled with the most gorgeous melody accompanying such sombre and emotional lyrics depicting a girl’s suicide. I asked myself “what was the motive behind this song?” “what lead the person in this song to do this?”

So, I started writing. I thought it’d be important for the narrator to be the girl who ultimately commits suicide because nobody really knows how a person could be strayed so wrong unless they’ve felt that way, too. As someone who personally suffers from depression, I took glimpses of my own life to narrate Cassadee’s mind. In a way, she reflects how I felt at my lowest, and I think it’s important to note that sometimes, every story doesn’t have a happy ending.

I didn’t want to write the conventional YA novel where “girl meets mysterious and dangerous boy with whom she falls in love and they go through a bunch of crazy stuff together.” I wanted to stray away from all of that and create something in the now, something…incredibly realistic and relatable. I may only be 23, but I just hope that people read this book and think about how they treat others, how their words can affect one another because in the grand scheme of it all, you may never know the mindset of the other person. You may never know if they’re internally struggling (and if they are, how badly they’re struggling). The moral is simply to watch your words.to ..you wouldn’t want to push someone over the edge who is barely hanging on to dear life.

3 thoughts on “Behind the Novel

    1. Aww thank you! I hope that it can reach a wider audience, somehow because a lot of the stuff in the book draws from personal experience and that might help people understand depression a bit.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

