Favorite Author – Giovanna Fletcher

When it comes to choosing a book to read, I usually go for the ones from authors whose books I’ve read for ages. With that said, I’m not that up-to-date with everything that’s been out in the last few years (that mainly has to do with school because I had almost no time for leisure reading). However, the one current author whose books I have read and grown to love is Giovanna Fletcher.

She’s one of those people you’d die to be friends with. As she’s shown on her Youtube channel, Giovanna is a genuinely lovely person. She’s funny, bubbly, kind, positive, goofy in the best possible way, and incredible singer (the covers she’s done with her husband, Tom, are brilliant)…and what’s more is that she’s an amazing writer. Gi is actually the reason why I got back into writing. She’s inspired me to be creative and write for myself, first and foremost, because that’s the most important thing about writing. If you can’t please yourself, then there’s no point, now is there?

bam

I was a bit late in picking up Billy and Me because I read it about six months after it came out. Needless to say, I was captured by the story just from the beginning. It starts off with Sophie May reminiscing about her childhood, giving the audience a bit of background. I saw myself in her because I was like that growing up. I was quite a loud and friendly child, then became quite the introvert during my teenage years, except I didn’t exclude my friends. And then the actual story begins, leading up to her whirlwind encounter with movie star Billy Buskin; she didn’t even know who he was when they met.

As I continued reading the book, I felt everything the characters were going through and wanted to throw things whenever something between Sophie and Billy went wrong. It’s one of those books you have to read in one sitting because you literally can’t put it down when you read it. I loved everything about the book and spoiler alert: I’m still a bit salty against Billy’s agent because he tried to tear Sophie apart from him.

you're

I had really high expectations about this book because of how brilliant Billy and Me was. And let me tell you, You’re the One That I Want did not disappoint. The beginning of the book falls on the wedding day of Maddy and Robert, who were childhood friends. As Maddy walks down the aisle, she catches sight of her other best friend since childhood, Ben, and wishes that he would make some sign to object, but he doesn’t.

The book basically tells the story of how all of the trials and tribulations the three friends went through lead to that very day. You’re the One That I Want takes you on a proper emotional roller coaster. I laughed, I cried, I was heartbroken, and went “awwww” in all the right places. I also found it really clever that she tied in Bily and Me by having the characters see a Billy Buskin film. The epilogue, itself, is enough to make you cry because she ended the story in such a touching and genius way that brings Ben and Maddy’s relationship, in particular, full circle.

Did I love it as much as Billy and Me? I might have loved it even more, if I’m being honest…

dream

Ever since she announced the release date of this book, I’ve been anticipating it. Dream a Little Dream officially comes out on Thursday, and as soon as I get my hands on a physical copy, I’m pretty sure that I’ll be buried in it. I read the little excerpt that she tweeted out a couple days ago and just from those few pages, I know that I’m going to at least like it, if not, love it.

Leave a Reply

