10 Happy Things

I didn’t do one of these last week because I wasn’t feeling up to snuff and there were a lot of things that happened that made me feel more depressed than happy. This week is different, so let’s get to it!

  1. I took a little walk on Friday and happened to stumble upon a cute deer just grazing in the grass (the very deer in that picture). It looked at me and stopped in its tracks. Once it saw that I was completely harmless, it moved closer and just studied me for about 5 minutes or so. It was a magical moment…most animals would scurry away, but this deer kinda looked at me with intrigue.
  2. Since it’s still Ramadan, I’ve had to wake up before the crack of dawn for suhoor, so I’ve had the pleasure of seeing the moon at 6AM and transition from night to morning. It’s quite a peaceful thing, even when you’re still quite tired.
  3. Cody Simpson just released an independent album a few days ago called Free and I must say, I love it. It has the same kind of chilled, laid back vibe that you’d hear from a Jack Johnson album (I feel like he’s one of his influences, but I guess it also has to do with the fact that he’s an Aussie). I don’t know. I really like it and it’s a great listen for when you want to just relax.
  4. For the past month or so, all I’ve been drinking is water and tea (I do have a latte every now and then) and I’ve noticed just how much my skin has been clearing up. It’s honestly the little things like that that make me happy.
  5. There’s this recipe on Chocolate Covered Katie called the “Carrot Cake in a Bowl” and I made it for the first time on Friday. It literally is what the name suggests and it tastes soooo delicious!
  6. All Time Low + Sleeping With Sirens just announced a tour (I’m a big ATL fan and not so much with SWS, but the album they just put out this year, Madness, is AMAZING!) and it’s called the “Back to the Future Hearts Tour.” Pretty creative, if you ask me. I think they’re taking a leaf out of McBusted’s book.
  7. Action 1D is literally the most brilliant idea because the boys are taking advantage of their platform, which mostly consists of teenage girls, a group of people that most overlook with regards to how powerful they can be. They’re literally giving their fans the chance to speak their minds about any of the current problems, from the environment to socio-economic issues, and say how they’d like to change the world. With their fan base and influence, you know that this is increase the chance of global change.
  8. Besides writing, cleaning is literally the most therapeutic thing to me. I took the time to clean my room, the corridor on the second floor of my apartment, and the bathroom, and it just feels nice knowing that everything looks nice.
  9. I know that it’s been raining cats and dogs this past week, but I’ve actually liked having all of this rain. It’s made writing a lot easier for me because I’m not as tempted to go outside for a walk or whatever.
  10. I’m finally beginning to sleep and it’s insane how much of a difference it can make. I’ve always been a terrible sleeper, but for the past few weeks, I couldn’t go to sleep until like, after 7AM and wake up a few hours later. I basically went through a longer spell of insomnia that I was used to. The thing is, you maximize the amount of oxygen going to your head when you sleep, so I’ve been missing out on that, as well as the rest that I need. It actually felt quite nice to wake up at 2:30 this afternoon.
Leave a Reply

