10 Happy Things

A weekly update on what’s been going on with me!

  1. On Friday, Ramadan ended and all the Eid celebrations began. I literally did nothing except write, to be honest, but the fact that this special month has ended is quite surreal. I’m still not getting used to the fact that I can eat during daylight hours.
  2. I made mac and cheese from scratch (the pasta was store-bought, buy I’m not going to let that ruin this post) from this skinny baked mac & cheese recipe from Chocolate Covered Katie and it’s just…ugh. Heaven.
  3. I’ve taken the initiative to potentially be an au pair for a family in France or Australia. I’m really excited to start a new, positive chapter in my life and experience something new. (The only thing hindering me from actually doing it is flight costs…I’m super broke).
  4. Another thing that happened on Friday was the worldwide release of 5 Seconds of Summer’s new single “She’s Kinda Hot.” I love this new punk-rock, “fuck the system” vibe the song gives off and I really hope that it opens people up to their music because they’re soooo much more than people give them credit for. And um, they reached #1 WITHOUT preorders the day it came out. Awoo!!!
  5. Another music-related thing is that I started listening to Blessthefall. I’m not a massive metalcore person, but their Hollow Bodies album has opened me up to the genre, and it’s actually really good. Makes me want a mosh pit in my room.
  6. I haven’t had chocolate in ages and I finally got my hands on a couple Endangered Species chocolate bars whilst grocery shopping. I honestly forgot how great it tastes.
  7. I went biking for the first time since Ramadan started and I didn’t realize how much I missed it!! The feel of the wind on my hair, the adrenaline rush you get from speeding, the bugs on the bike path (nah, not really)…I missed all of that.
  8. I’ve written loads more on The Beautiful Effect and even started writing Down Goes Another One. I must say, I’m pretty stoked to see where both stories go, and I can’t wait to share more of it on Wednesday!
  9. I’ve been watching a lot of classic Disney movies lately and I seriously don’t see why Disney buffs don’t talk about them more. Last night, I watched The Adventures of Ichobad and Mr. Toad for the first time ever and absolutely loved it! I feel like the classics that aren’t princess movies are super underrated.
  10. I don’t exactly have a tenth thing this week. All I’m gonna say here is that I hope you’re having a lovely day/afternoon/night, wherever you are!
Leave a Reply

