Writing Wednesday – NEW BOOK!

Guess who’s back after what seems like weeks of not posting? I’ve picked myself up a little bit and am slowly getting better, so I thought I’d update you guys with a new #WritingWednesday post.

I’ve started writing an actual new book that isn’t a fan fic called “Fangirl.” What’s this book about? you might ask? Well, I’m pretty sure the title’s self-explanatory. I just wrote the prologue a couple days ago, but all I can say that it follows 21-year-old Sereen Nejem, a Muslim-American who is deeply caught up in the fangirl lifestyle.

For your reading pleasure and today’s #WritingWednesday, here’s the prologue to “Fangirl!” I really hope you enjoy it. I’m super ecstatic about writing this book because I think it’ll clear up just what it means to be a “fangirl” in the modern world and how we’re not truly “crazy,” as everyone seems to think.


According to the Cambridge English Dictionary, a fangirl is defined as a girl or young woman who is a fan of someone or something such as an actor, a type of music, a piece of technology, etc. I didn’t choose the fangirl life. The fangirl life chose me. Nobody chooses to fall in love with a specific artist, band, or actor. It just happens. It’s essentially the same concept as falling in love with your significant other, but from afar for eternity. And just because majority of people don’t understand what it’s like to be in this position doesn’t give them the right to make fun of us for being this way. The fangirl lifestyle isn’t a phase that happens between the ages of 12-18. It doesn’t stop just because we grow up and become adults. I’m living proof of that.

From the ripe age of seven, I got a little taste of what it meant to be a fangirl. The year was 1999. Boy/girl bands and pop princesses ruled the world. I happened to have flair for both because I was obsessed with the Backstreet Boys, Spice Girls, and Britney Spears. And just like everyone else, I had a favorite. I was in love with Nick Carter just like every other girl (and yes, I do realize that I was only seven/eight). But also similar to everyone else, I loved the Backstreet Boys and Spice Girls for their music. They were catchy and amazing; I still love their music to this very day.

When you’re as young as that, people don’t judge you. Kids younger than ten years old have it easy when it comes to being a fangirl because they’re not truly exposed to the manic lifestyle it entails. All they know is that they like the actor’s personality and the characters that they play, or the artist’s music. But when you reach your pre-teen years, all hell breaks loose. That’s when the fangirl lifestyle hits you right in the feels. And there’s no turning back from it once it sucks you in.

At aged twelve, everyone starts to experience changes within themselves because of that awkward phase we’ve all grown to hate called puberty. Guys think they have it bad with their voice changing, suddenly shooting up to be as tall as trees, and that lovely thing called a boner. Trust me when I say that it sucks being a teenage girl. Periods are obviously a big part of it, but it’s a lot more than our anatomical and biological changes that make puberty for girls so much worse than boys.

Our mentality is the icing on top of the cake. We’re now at the age where we’re obsessed with hair, make-up, becoming popular, and gaining male attention from our peers. But that’s not all girls are starting to obsess over when they hit their pre-teen years. I’ll give you a hint. What do McFly, 5 Seconds of Summer, All Time Low, and One Direction have in common besides being bands (I know that One Direction is a boy band, but they fit this case more than the other four I’ve mentioned)? If you guessed a fanbase comprised of mostly hordes of “crazy” teenage girls, then you’re correct. Girls start investing their souls in their favorite bands, actors, and I guess Viners and Youtubers now. They spend so much time and energy on keeping up with their idols’ lives that adults think they’re crazy and boys their age think they’re being ridiculous. Why is it socially acceptable for grown men to be obsessed over sports and do things that could turn violent when their favorite team loses, and it be  “ridiculous” for a girl to cry over seeing their favorite artist in person? It’s not too terrible when the fangirl life doesn’t completely consume you. But when it does, you’re in deep trouble.

I remember the first time I got into Skellington. They were just the openers for 5 Seconds of Summer’s second headlining tour, but I fell for them. Hard. Just like I did for 5 Seconds of Summer when I found out about them through One Direction, but even worse. I didn’t think I could fall harder for another band or band member. I thought for sure that those four Australian idiots had me wrapped around their fingers for good. I thought I would never find a kindred spirit as talented (both as a songwriter and bassist), warm hearted, open, and attractive as Calum Hood. But in came Skellington with their drummer, Neil Summers, with his monster skills, gorgeous brown eyes, slightly quiffed chestnut locks, and million Watt smile that could light up an entire town. Once I set my eyes on Neil, I knew that I was fucked. I knew that I was in too deep and committed to not only this new band, but its drummer.

I remember the day 5 Seconds of Summer announced Skellington as their opening act; they even signed them to their label Hi or Hey! Records. It was both, the worst and most glorious day of my life. I didn’t know who they were, so I immediately started on my Skellington research. I found out that Skellington is Australian (just like 5SOS), but they come from Melbourne rather than Sydney. They got their name due to their mutual love of The Nightmare Before Christmas, similar to McFly and Back to the Future. Their lead singer and guitarist, Beau Belle, is 6’3” and has the most luscious auburn curls I’ve ever seen on a boy, and eyes as green as the needles of a pine tree. Bronx Rhodes, their lead guitarist, stands at 6’1” with very pale skin, jet black hair via Pete Wentz circa From Under the Corktree, and emerald eyes. The bassist, Cam Hunter, is also 6’1,” but has short blond hair similar to Luke Hemmings’ and eyes as cerulean as the ocean during a neap tide. And then there’s Neil Summers, drummer extraordinaire and the love of my life. I still hold a special place in my heart for Calum, but he plays guitar and I guess I’m into drummers now. I have quite a thing for the rhythm section, it seems.  

Not only are the boys of Skellington physically attractive, but they have the kindest souls and heaps of talent. The first video I saw was them covering one of my favorite 5 Seconds of Summer songs: “Disconnected.” I’ve always loved the bassline of that song and the fact that Calum sings lead in the chorus instead of Luke. I guess the reason why it’s one of my favorites is because of how much of Calum there is in it (not to mention that he helped co-write that song, too). But when Skellington covered it, I didn’t pay attention to the bass. I payed attention to the drums, instead. I payed attention to the way Neil kept in time with Cam and how at ease he was sitting on his drum kit. I payed attention to the way Neil’s chocolate eyes lit up when Bronx looked back at him, and all of the faces he made while drumming. In the few minutes I watched that one video, I fell for Neil like I fell for Calum. And once you fall for a band member, there’s no going back.

Anyone could tell me that at 21, I’m insane for how much time I’ve spent on these bands, especially Skellington. My room is entirely covered in Skellington posters (and some 5 Seconds of Summer ones). I’ve dedicated an entire blog to them, started writing fan fiction, and playing covers with the new bass my parents bought me for my birthday (that was surprising in itself since my parents aren’t big on music, at all). You can call me silly for having my Twitter notifications turned on for them, waiting for the moment they say something stupid or how pumped they are about new music. You can call me silly for staying up until 3AM just to hear a radio interview or new song drop since time zones are a bitch. Hell, you can even call me crazy for thinking that I could actually have a chance with Neil when there are millions of girls who are also dying to be with him, too. Call me crazy for being obsessed with four guys who don’t even know my name, but they make me happy. Like I said before, I didn’t choose to be a fangirl; it chose me.

Leave a Reply

