Birthstone Book Tag

I know this has been floating around for a while, but since I’ve just recently come back to this, I haven’t given it  whirl yet. I love myself a good tag! Anyone can do this, so I say go for it if you want. I guess it’s time to dive in!

JANUARY (GARNET): Associated with warding off negative forces and dark energies

Name a book with the darkest/evilest character you can think of.

For this one, I’m going to have to go with Frollo from Victor Hugo’s The Hunchback of Notre Dame. If you’ve seen the Disney movie, you have a pretty good idea of his character. As a member of the church, he has all the power over Paris. In the book, he fights over his lust for the fifteen/sixteen year-old gypsy girl Esmeralda and the Notre Dame’s rules. He has Quasimodo kidnap her, then murders Captain Phoebus after he sees him trying to seduce Esmeralda, and betrays her after he fails to win her love.He even laughs at Esmeralda as he watches her being hanged; if he can’t have her, then she deserves to die in his eyes.

FEBRUARY (AMYTHEST): Purple is associated with royalty.

Name a book with regal qualities…you can base this off of characters or choose the king of all books.

The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot solely because of the title, plus I really love this series.

MARCH (AQUAMARINE): Washed out.

Name a ‘wishy-washy’ character, a character who is not strong or a follower.

I really love him, but Simon Lewis from The Mortal Instruments series isn’t necessarily a weak character, but he’s definitely a follower, even when he was turned into a vampire because he was still trying to find his footing in the world outside of the “mundanes.”

APRIL (DIAMOND): A diamond in the rough

Name a book that you loved, but is not well-known.

I’m going to do a bit of cheating on here and go with all of Giovanna Fletcher’s books. She’s one of my favorite authors and 99% of the time, anyone would probably ask me “who wrote that?” if I mentioned one of her books.

MAY (EMERALD): Said to balance energy.

Name two characters who balance each other well

Anne Shirley and Gilbert Blythe in the Anne of Green Gables series. In the beginning, Gilbert was this hotshot at school with the highest marks and looks that could get any girl. Then Anne came and changed the entire game. Her fiery personality and determination challenged Gilbert, which is why I think they’re such a perfect match (of course they are!). I think their entire relationship worked because they tested each other growing up.

JUNE (PEARL): Associated with loyalty.

Name a character who is loyal to the end.

Dobby. Hands down. After Harry freed him from the Malfoys by gifting him a sock, he’s been there for him literally until his death. Dobby did everything that he could to protect Harry, whether it was the best thing at the time or not. He literally did stick it out until his untimely death, which I’m still not over.

JULY (RUBY): Blood red.

Name a book that made your blood boil, one that made you angry.

Reasons why nobody every chooses to read Hermen Melville’s Moby Dick unless they’re forced to for school: it’s dull, long, and ridiculous. The action parts are nice, but so very few, and there are just way too many whaling chapters. It may be a classic, but I just can’t with that book.

AUGUST (PERIDOT): Pale green (It pales in comparison to other gems).

Name a supporting character who you think is better than the main character.

I’ve read all of the Twilight books and Bella Swan really is a weak character.As one of the main protagonists of the series, she should have been stronger and less dependent on Edward. I honestly love Alice, who’s one of the Cullen vampires. She’s a fun character with premonitions (although limited) and I’d love to more know about her background. Honestly, I’d love an entire book on the Cullens’ backgrounds and how they became vampires because that’d be way more interesting than the entire series.

SEPTEMBER (SAPPHIRE): Blue–like the ocean, which is calming.

Name a book that had a calming affect on you.

This is a really hard one because when I’m one of those people who get so into the characters and the story that I tend to go insane. I think I might have to pass on this one, to be honest because I can’t think of anything!!

OCTOBER (OPAL): Iridescent.

Name an iridescent book. This can be a book with a beautiful cover (shiny? Lots of color?) or you can base it off of a character (colorful? quirky?)

This is a major cop-out, but I’m totally allowed to say the Harry Potter series’ Luna Lovegood, right? She’s such a gem of a character, and I think it’s great that she embraces her quirks and doesn’t really care that she’s different. Luna Lovegood for the win. YES!!

NOVEMBER (TOPAZ): Associated with resilience.

Name a book with a character who rises to the top in times of adversity.

For this one, I’m going to go with American Gods by Neil Gaiman. Shadow is suddenly thrown into this world of gods after he’s released from prison and despite everything Wednesday’s put him through, he remains loyal and somehow calm when most people would just go “fuck this!”

DECEMBER (BLUE ZIRCON): Associated with friendship.

Name a book with a friendship you want to be apart of.

I have loved Sharon Creech’s Bloomability since I read it as a kid and I just adore Dinnie’s little group of friends that she makes at her new school in Switzerland. Despite everyone’s different backgrounds and personalities, Dinnie, Gutherie, Lila, Mari, and Keisuke bond and become great friends throughout the school year.

2 thoughts on “Birthstone Book Tag

  1. Great post! I’m not a big fan of Dobby (don’t punish me please) even though he is one of the greatest characters in HP but Luna 😍💜 I love her!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

