Sailor Moon Book Tag

Alright, folks. I got a bit bored last night since I surprisingly finished writing for the day early. I was searching through to see what kind of book tags were out there when I stumbled across this one. Growing up, Sailor Moon was, and still is, one of my favorite animes EVER. If anyone’s wondering, my favorite is Sailor Pluto. Obviously I had to check it and do it, so here it goes!

 

Sailor Moon: A book that makes you hungry

I’m going with Brian Jacques’ Redwall for this one. I absolutely ADORED the series growing up because I thought it was really cool to see woodland creatures in this medieval setting. Of course there are feast scenes and each one will make your mouth salivate to no end.

Sailor Mercury: A book that features science and technology

For this one, I’m going a bit out there. Dan Brown’s Inferno features a plot that includes the WHO and Robert Langdon trying to stop a new biological plague from breaking into the world. Talk about daunting stuff!

Sailor Venus: A book that makes you want to play video games

I clearly don’t read enough video game-based books or books inspired by video games, so I’m gonna go for the nearest thing, which is board games. Ellen Raskin’s The Westing Game definitely gives you that Clue vibe, as the characters  are brought in teams of two to try and figure out who killed Samuel Westing.

Sailor Mars: A book inspired by mythology or folklore

As Neil Gaiman is one of my favorite authors, of course I’m gonna choose American Gods. I actually just finished reading it last month! The idea of the story is that gods and mythological creatures exist due to humanity’s belief in them, and the power of these mythological beings dwindle as people’s beliefs plummet.

Sailor Jupiter: A book that gave you strong feelings

You’re the One That I Want is by another one of my favorite authors, Giovanna Fletcher. I laughed, I cried, I was on the edge about who Maddy would go for even though the prologue hints that she’s marrying Rob and not Ben. It’s just a really great novel and it put my feels through a roller coaster.

Sailor Saturn: A post-apocalyptic book you love

Again, I don’t read too many books set in a post-apocalyptic world. However, I have read Stephanie Meyer’s The Host and thoroughly enjoyed it—much better than Twilight for sure. The books is set in a a world where Earth is invaded by aliens called “The Souls” and follows one Soul’s journey, Wanda, as her host human refuses to cooperate when her body is taken over.

Sailor Pluto: A book that contains time travel

It’s been a while since I’ve read Orson Scott Card’s Enchantment, but I remember really loving it because it puts a twist on the Sleeping Beauty story we’ve all come to known. The protagonist, Ivan Smetski, is a Ukranian-American linguist specializing in Old Church Slavonic, a 10th Century Russian language. In 1992, he returns to his his hometown and re-discovers the body of  a woman he’s seen as a child sleeping in a wood, wakes her with a kiss, and is suddenly transported to the 10th Century with her.

Sailor Uranus: A book containing elemental magic

I’ve chosen Robin McKinley’s Chalice, in which a country is divided into demenses, each with three types of priests: one of Earth, Air, and Fire. It’s an interesting story about the new Chalice, her “special bees,” and how she proves herself fit for the job after being doubted.

Sailor Neptune: A book featuring music

I feel like Gaston Leroux’s Phantom of the Opera is pretty self-explanatory. “Sing for me, my Angel of Music!” It’s dark, haunting, and really makes you think twice about visiting the opera.

Tuxedo Mask: A book with masquerades or hidden identities

“Who am I? That’s a secret I’ll never tell. You know you love me. XOXO, Gossip Girl.” Anyone who’s read the book series by Cecily ovn Ziegesar or seen the TV series knows that Gossip Girl is an eponymous blogger who follows the privileged students of Constance Billard School for Girls, primarily best friends and socialites Serena van der Woodsen and Blair Waldor.

Rini/Sailor Chibi Moon: A favorite middle grade book

I love Sharon Creech books, but of course I had to go for Bloomability. The diversity of characters and the idea of “bloomability,” as put by Japanese student Keisuke as a linguistic concept for “possibility,” is so enjoyable and uplifting to read. I just absolutely adore this book.

Luna, Artemis, and Diana: A book for animal lovers

A.A. Milne’s Winnie-the-Pooh is why I, and I’m sure a lot of you, have grown to love the honey-hungry Pooh bear and his friends in the Hundred Acre Woods. My childhood wouldn’t have been the same with this ball of stuff, and I’m just grateful for the characters for teaching me so much.

2 thoughts on “Sailor Moon Book Tag

Leave a Reply

