#WritingWednesday: Last Day of NaNoWriMo & Exposed 2 Excerpt

Helloooo!!! Welcome back to another #WritingWednesday. This is an insane one since it’s the very last day of November, so NaNoWriMo is officially coming to an end. It’s been a long, grueling month and it’s definitely tested me mentally and physically. Seems silly to think writing can test you physically when literally all I’ve been doing is sitting and putting ink to paper, but when you’re doing it for hours on end each day, it can definitely take its toll on you.

For yesterday’s writing session, I managed to write two short chapters, bringing my word count total to ~62K. Throughout this entire month, I’ve been writing this book by hand and it amazes me how much I’ve accomplished in such a short amount of time. I won’t be done writing the book by the time midnight hits and December 1 rolls around, but I’ve finally figured out how I want to end the story. That should count for something, right?

The reason why I didn’t know how it’ll end is because I neither outline nor plan my writing. I literally just have a concept and let the story guide itself as I write. It’s mainly because if I do make an outline, which I have done in the past, I tend to stray away from what I originally intended. I also hate having things planned out. I kinda like the element of surprise when I write.

Anyways, as this is a #WritingWednesday post, I’ve got another excerpt to share with you. Since this is the very last day of NaNoWriMo, I’m gonna give you something from the story I’ve been working on.

This little scene is another flashback chapter from the second book in the Exposed series. This is also the second flashback chapter I’m sharing with you…oops. I guess the main reason why I’ve been choosing flashbacks is because they don’t give away the story for those who haven’t read the first book.

I just wrote this one a couple days ago, so it’s pretty far into the book (chapter 20), but nicely segues into the chapter after it. Here we have Marquilla going to bestie and partner in crime Skylar Rose’s house for some…scheming. This scene ultimately leads to the first book because this is how the girls started plotting Marquilla and Jason’s relationship.

 My plan worked and I’m incredibly stoked about it. I knew Josh would rather dump Skylar than sleep with me after I threatened to blackmail him because he would never cheat on her. Plus, he likes her way too much to risk her thinking that he’s unfit to be around. Josh and Nils didn’t take as much drugs as Reli and me, but even that wee bit of time they took it is enough to set Skylar off. No drugs means no drugs to her; Skylar would rather kill herself before dating someone who has used drugs.

I also knew Nils and I would be over as a result. The Bo Bros are a super tight knit trio and they tell each other basically everything. I honestly wasn’t too bothered when Nils ranted his mouth off about what I did to his brother. I thought he was giving me a college lecture on relationships because it lasted for so long! What resonated with me the most was his little tangent on wolf packs. It had nothing to do with the situation, which I thought was absolutely hilarious, but I could see the parallel between us and the pack. The poor by was raging, but I pretended to be sorry for my actions when i really wasn’t.

Josh and Nils Bohous are hot; there’s no denying that fact. With their older brother Ky, the boys are in the biggest band in the world right now. They’re basically this generation’s Hanson since they’re three brothers in a band. Any girl would be lucky to have either boy, which probably makes me seem foolish for wanting Nils to break up with me. I can’t say the same for Skylar since she had absolutely nothing to do with her split; everything is all thanks to me.

My reason is simple: the boys are a distraction from world domination. After riding off of Nils’ relevancy, I was going to break up with him, anyways. I can’t stay tied down to him when there’s bound to be other guys in the industry with more wealth and fame in the future. Skylar can do so well without Josh, too. She’s the queen of the charts, and the break up spawned her biggest hit yet—”Superior Vengeance.” The song hints that another girl came between them and that’s why he dumped her. I’s pretty close to the truth since that girl happens to be me. Than goodness she’s oblivious to that fact!

This brings me to how i consoled Skylar’s heartache. I told er to write about how she felt in song, and three about Josh made it onto the album. Yeah, three. The album’s going to be multi-platinum soon, too. In a way, Josh breaking up with Skylar is the best thing that could have happened to her professionally. I mean, she’s killing the charts in every country in the world! She should be thanking me for her success, but there’s no way in hell I’ll ever admit to what I did; she’d absolutely hate me if she finds out.

Skylar may be doing brilliantly. But me? Not so much. Things have been pretty bleak since Nils and I split. Witches has been dropping in views because everyone adores Nils, and I don’t have anyone except for Skylar. It’s bad enough that Reli’s giving me the cold shoulder; all of our Winsey peers seem to be following her lead. I haven’t been doing great with the isolation, so I’m on my way to Skylar’s for some plan that’s sure to get me back on track—or so she claims.

I pull into her massive driveway and sigh deeply as I turn off the ignition. I don’t know why I’m so nervous right now. Skylar’s got my back; I can trust her. So why do I feel so anxious? I should be fine since Skylar would never suggest anything obscene.I had her back after the Josh thing, so why shouldn’t she have mine?

You’re clearly overthinking this, Marquie. You know you are, I think as I approach the door. Just trust Skylar like she’s trusted you. You’re in really good hands here. Watch, she’ll probably have someone in mind for you to date and he’s probably a mega star. You have nothing to worry about with Skylar in control. Stop being so unreasonable and just have faith that something great’s gonna happen! You’ve got this. You will be victorious!

My confidence slowly builds once Skylar opens the door, and boy does she look hot! Her hair is cut into a sophisticated shoulder-length bob with straight bangs to compliment the look. A nice dark pink gloss makes her lips shimmer, and her eyes make it look like you’re gazing at the sky. What sets her appearance off is the royal purple skater dress accompanied by a diamond pendant. My God do I have a stunning bestie!

“You’re here!” Skylar squeaks, pulling me in for a hug and nearly making me lose my breath as I gasp for air.

“And you’re suffocating me,” I note. “Literally.”

Skylar releases me and shoots an apologetic glance as I retain my normal breathing rate. After she’s satisfied that I’m completely fine, she ushers me into the house and straight to her lounge area. Two of her cats scope the area as they carry themselves in a hoity manner. I swear they think they live at Buckingham Palace or something because Skylar spoils the shit out of them.

We sit on the carpet, where an array of snacks are spread out for our digesting pleasure. I don’t know if having bowls of chips and salsa and candy on the ground is a good idea when Furball One and Furball Two can easily get their paws on the food. I’ve been to Skylar’s multiple times since we became friends, and she’s never sat us down with snacks like this.

“You don’t look so good,” she observes as she picks up one of the cats—a big fat orange one that reminds me of Garfield. “Are you okay, Marquie?”

“I’m fine,” I assure her. I flicker my gaze from Skylar to the cat in her lap and grumble. “I just don’t think it’s a good idea to have food on the ground when the hairballs are loose.”

“Hey, don’t call them hairballs! Marquilla, they have names,” Skylar voices in defense as she strokes Furball One. She’s so offended that I dissed her cats. “Poor Pikachu here is sad now because you hurt his feelings.”

“You named your cat after a Pokémon?” I question.

“So? People name their kids weird things,” she argues. “What’s the difference?”

“Sky, Pikachu’s a mouse. That’s a cat.”

“Whatever,” she scoffs, rolling her eyes. “Anyways, I have news that I think you’ll love. I found your next boyfriend and he’s gonna be huge within the next year! He’s not that bad looking, too.”

Okay, now we’re talking. I always knew Skylar would pull through for me. I helped her with Currently Speaking; it’s only fair that she helps me with this. I really did freak out over nothing! I should suppress my doubts more often when it concerns Skylar. I feel like the biggest idiot right now for every negative thought I had about this meeting.

“Who is he? Do I know him? Is he a singer or actor, or what? How old is he?” I bombard my hostess.

I know I’m pushing it, but I’m really eager to find out who this person is. For all I know, he could be some random rising star with an arrogant personality. I’d rather not deal with a snob. I don’t care how big and famous he is; if he’s a massive jerk, I’m not going to deal with it. I don’t even care if he’s cute! I wouldn’t tolerate anyone who thinks they can walk all over me.

“Have you heard that song called ‘Just Once?'” Skylar asks. She pops a piece of chocolate in her mouth and grins. “Das yer clue.”

“Isn’t that by that kid with the floppy hair?” I guess. Skylar being no help just shrugs her shoulders. “Ugh! What’s his name? I swar I have it on the tip of my tongue! It starts with a ‘J’ doesn’t it? Jay something. Jay…”

“Something’s close,” Skylar hints. “Combine it, Marquie. What do you get?”

“Jay and something?” I frantically ask. I can feel myself getting desperate for her to just spit it out. I don’t want to deal with Skylar’s stupid games! “That doesn’t even make sense, Skylar! Jay Something?!?!!”

“Ugh, you’re so slow! Omit the word ‘thing’ at the end. Maybe that’ll help.”

“Jaysome? What the hell kind of name is that?” I frustratingly wonder. I dip a chip into the salsa and stuff it into my mouth.  As I chew and swallow, it finally hits me. “Ohh! Jason. That’s what you were trying to get me to say! Jason who?”

“You’ll figure it out,” Skylar simply says, much to my dismay.

Livid, I contain my anger by eating more chips and salsa. I don’t think I know anyone in the industry named Jason who’s around my age. Meanwhile, Skylar appears to be enjoying my sufering. She’s just sitting there eating candy while that stupid orange cat named after a yellow electric mouse with permanent blush on its cheeks sits its fat ass on her lap. I can’t believe she made me come here, only to toy with my fuse!

“It’s Jason Flamel,” she finally says. “You’d still be guesing if I didn’t finally tell you. He’s only a year younger than you and he’s a pretty good singer.”

Skylar pulls out her laptop and opens it up. She types in Jason Flamel on the search bar, and my eyes widen when his picture comes up. Now I know who he is! I’ve definitely heard his song before, and his face is everywhere! Skylar’s right about him being cute. He doesn’t look like he’s a douchebag, too. I think we found my next boyfriend.

“I can’t believe how high you’ve aimed!” I exclaim as I read through his Wikipedia page.

“He even has a crush on you!” Skylar gushes, squeezing me tightly. “I know people who know his manager’s number. You can have a meeting set up in now time, Marquilla.”

“Ah! Skylar, you’re the best!” I squeal as I wrap my arms around her and kiss the top of her head. “Now we need to find someone for you, and everything will be set.”

As Skylar and I strategize, I can’t help thinking about how perfect of a team Skylar and I make. As long as we have each other, we’re going to be unstoppable. Jason Flamel better watch out; he’s going to have his entire career turned upside down once his manager and my mom get talking. 

Leave a Reply

