NaNoWriMo: A Send-Off

There’s still a couple hours left of November where I am, but I have succeeded in completing my first ever NaNoWriMo! It’s been an emotional roller coaster and I can’t believe how quickly it’s passed. It feels like just yesterday when I was trying to figure out how to start the prologue; now I’ve got the ending mapped out in my mind.

I started off really strong, writing at least 4K words during the first week. Pretty impressive when you’re writing by hand rather than typing it out. And then…I lost my groove. I’ve been battling depression and it’s really kicked in after the election (egad!). I went from writing 4K words to a few hundred just like that because I was having trouble coping and believing my story was actually good enough to conceive.

Midway into the third week, I found my groove again. My daily word count fluctuated, so it continuously went up and down. Yet somehow, I reached the elusive 50K in 19 days. You can imagine the wave of relief that washed through me once I saw that I reached 100 words over 50K on day 19.

At the start of the month, I thought I’d give NaNoWriMo a whirl. I didn’t know how grueling it would be or how my mentality would be affected, but I went for it. 30 days later, I’ve written 23 complete chapters (started 24 today, but didn’t finish) and ended up with a total of 65,422 words.

I really love what I’ve written, and I hope you guys have enjoyed the prologue and flashback chapters I’ve shared with you on Wednesdays.

It’s been one hell of a ride, but thank goodness it’s over! I need a drink and a long nap, as I’m sure everyone else does.

Leave a Reply

