My First OTP

By now, I’m sure everyone’s aware that Anne of Green Gables is my favorite series ever.I fell in love with the characters and Avonela almost instantaneously, which is why I go back and read all eight books at least once a year (it’s always around this time of year, too).

There’s a reason why many adore the story. It’s not just the beautiful imagery L.L. Montgomery paints or the journey the reader embarks as they grow up with Anne. Her relationship with Gilbert is what ultimately draws readers in.

I have definitely shipped them since the first time they met. Sure he called her ‘Carrots’ and she broke her slate over his head, but I definitely had a feeling he’d be a huge part of the story after that one scene. I think I was only nine or ten when I first read the story, too.

Their first encounter wasn’t the best, but the first time I read the series, I rooted for them. As the story went on, their relationship blossomed into something so beautiful, so loving that you can’t help holding them in your heart.

Each time I read the series or watch the movies, the magic of Anne and Gilbert’s love story never falters. I never fail to scream, aww, or cry at my book or screen because they hold such a special place in my heart and make me believe that the right person is out there (even though I’ve always believed the opposite) and sometimes, it takes time to find them.

For as long as I live, I’ll cherish Anne Shirley and Gilbert Blythe. You can have as many OTPs as you want—although it defeats the definition of having ‘one true pair’—but there will always be an ultimate OTP that you hold near and dear. For me, it’s definitely these two.

Leave a Reply

