2017 Perspective

Can you guys believe we’ve finished a 366 chapter book and are beginning a blank one right now? Happy 2017, everyone! Last year was rough on an international scale, whether it was Brexit, the election, or the many disasters and deaths that occurred, but we made it through. Now, it’s time to shed light and love, and make 2017 brighter than the hell mouth that was 2016.

2016 was extremely rough for me. I don’t know how many times I’ve reiterated how mentally taxing I’ve been, but there were definitely times when I felt like relinquishing altogether. The last week of 2016 basically summed it up because not a day passed by when I didn’t hurt myself, think about deleting what I’ve typed (if it was typed), or shredding my writing to bits (if they were handwritten) or worse. I wanted to give up so much, yet I didn’t for some reason.

So here we are on day one of a brand, shiny new year, gearing into the weekday. This weekend was so-so for me, but like the featured gif from All Time Low’s “Weightless”, I’m thinking maybe it’s not my weekend, but this could be my year.

My resolution is more about self-care than anything else, because I really need it. It’s HURT YOURSELF LESS, LOVE AND BELIEVE IN YOURSELF MORE.

I’ve consumed myself in so much negativity over the past few years, that I’m going to strive for positivity. Last year, I wrote BOTH of these books.

I’ve definitely talked about Exposed and shared a few excerpts on here on Wednesdays. I had a difficult start when I wrote it because I wanted to do the topic justice. The book is based on a blog that I’ve been following for the past few years, and the girl who runs it has been so kind to me that I didn’t want to let her down. And I didn’t…I think. In the course of ~4 months, I wrote Exposed and I JUST finished editing it last week. It’s got kinda a Gossip Girl/Pretty Little Liars feel to it, and I’m just glad people have been reading. On Christmas, I posted the end of the story on my Wattpad and it ended the year at an incomprehensible (for me) 3.1K reads.

As for Betrayed? Well, I’ve also shared bits with you from that story, too. That’s the the book I wrote for NaNoWriMo! Since it was written throughout a measly 38 days, it was rushed. I’ve JUST decided on the title yesterday and posted the prologue, which I’ve definitely posted on here, last night in honor of the New Year. It’s definitely going to need some hardcore editing —I literally scrapped and re-wrote the entire first chapter because it didn’t coincide with a reference to that scene in a later chapter —but that’s to be expected. I think I read through and edited Exposed about twenty times before I was completely satisfied with the outcome.

I’m putting my foot down to make 2017 my plot twist, hoping for acceptance e-mails for possible representation and striving for a more positive mindset. A couple years ago, I set a goal for being a published author by my 26th birthday. I’m turning 25 in just 36 days, so…Who knows? Maybe this’ll also be the year I (finally) meet someone and fall in love. The only thing I’m certain of is that I’ll continue writing; looks like I need to brainstorm for book 3 after all this editing’s finished! Whatever happens in 2017, I’m thinking this could be my year.

Leave a Reply

