#WritingWednesday: Depths of Despair

It’s February, everyone!! January has been…well, scary. It’s a new month now and this will be my very last #WritingWednesday as a 24 year old because my birthday’s on Monday. Not gonna lie, I’m pretty anxious about turning 25. Then again, EVERYTHING makes me anxious—last month is a great example of that.

Today, will be slightly different, as I’ll be sharing lyrics to a song I wrote for a story I wrote last year called #FangirlProbs. It used to be up on my Wattpad, but I decided to take it down because I was so insecure about it. I think I’m just paranoid about my writing in general; doubt is highly prevalent.

In the story, there’s a band called Skellington—named after Jack Skellington due to the band’s love of The Nightmare Before Christmas. I knew I had to write songs for them because the main character, who happens to be an American Muslim, is their biggest fan and plays their music loads.

Here’s a song called “Depths of Despair” that I wrote for the story. Hope you guys enjoy!

Depths of Despair

Every time I see you, I know that something’s wrong

You’re always in your room crying

‘Cause you feel like you don’t belong.

It’s written on your face, the pain you can’t disguise

But every time I see you,

You smile and say “I’m fine.”

You’re not telling the truth

Kills me to see you slowly lose your youth.

Despite the mask you wear

You’re in the depths of despair

Consumed in dark and misery til snatched and unaware

Of what little time you have left, the more you wear and tear.

I can’t help you break the cycle

The more you fall in the depths of despair.

This isn’t one of your silly books

Romanticizing what the demons took

No Heathcliff of Rhett to wait for you

As your tortured heart grows darker than blue.

You laugh it off, say I’m insane

For comparing real life to works of fiction.

But I know that deep inside,

You wish you could swap to lessen the pain.

Despite the mask you wear

You’re in the depths of despair

Consumed in dark and misery til snatched and unaware

Of what little time you have left, the more you wear and tear.

I can’t help you break the cycle

The more you fall in the depths of despair.

You scream, you cry, you shout it out.

When I’m around, you shut your mouth.

The more you’re silent, the more you fall

Don’t know what to do, don’t want to lose you at all.

Despite the mask you wear

You’re in the depths of despair

Consumed in dark and misery til snatched and unaware

Of what little time you have left, the more you wear and tear.

I can’t help you break the cycle

The more you fall in the depths of despair.

Leave a Reply

