30 Day Music Challenge – Jour 10

Happy Sunday, everyone! It’s a big gloomy this morning where I am…thanks, rain. I woke up feeling a little better than I did last night, but my mood is still meh, for a lack of a better term. Anyways, here’s today’s song. Can you believe we’re at day 10 already?

Jour 10: A song that makes you sad

left behind

If you’ve seen Spring Awakening before or at least know the story/heard the soundtrack, then you can understand why I chose this song. I love musicals and this is one of my all time favorites. If don’t know what Spring Awakening is, I’ll just tell you a little story that I promise is relevant to this song. When I was a senior in high school, I saw Spring Awakening  in my town because the traveling troupe came. After Moritz shoots himself, “Left Behind” is sung at his funeral and mainly talks about how Moritz’s parents treated him, and the factors leading to his untimely death. It’s just a heartbreaking, beautiful song. And yes, I did cry during that scene. I still cry a little when I hear this song because it just brings the scene back.

Leave a Reply

