30 Day Music Challenge – Jour 12

Happy Tuesday and second day of spring! So, yesterday I watched Broadchurch and it just broadened the pool of suspects, but eliminated one person. I don’t think I can wait another 6 days for the next episode…I NEED IT NOW! I also watched Dancing With the Stars last night and this year’s cast is…interesting. I just hope Chris isn’t voted out next week because I think there’s more to him, and he’s great for the laughs.

I also received another rejection email for my book—yeah, like that’s not unexpected—and it’s okay. I appreciate agents who legitimately take the time to personally write back their declination and wish you luck. It’s just a nice gesture and it makes me feel like they truly did take the time to read my query. Oh well. That’s just one step closer to the person who’ll take my story on board, right? I can only hope for the best.

Anyways, here’s today’s song.

Jour 12: A day from your preteen years

My classification of “preteen” is 11-12, so I’m going for a song from 2003/2004, which was when I was those ages. This was super hard. I know this makes me sound biased, but the early to mid-00’s produced a plethora of amazing tracks. Like, I actually listened to the radio because it was so diverse back then. I mean, there was a good mix of country, r&b, rap, punk rock, pop…it’s not like the radio now where nearly EVERYTHING is rap or some type of pop song. After perusing the Billboard charts, this is what I picked.

get low

I wanted to pick a rap song for the diversity, and I actually like this song. “Get Low” by Lil Jon & The East Side Boyz and the Ying Yang Twins was such a bop in 2003. I was 11 and I remember hearing it EVERYWHERE in 6th grade, and then played constantly at middle school dances. Honestly, they don’t make music like this anymore and I enjoy listening to this every so often. Music during my middle school years was pretty legit and the radio, so diverse.

Leave a Reply

