30 Day Music Challenge – Jour 18

It’s the last Monday of March and college basketball is almost ending. I don’t follow it because I honestly don’t care, but it’s a focal point in hot topics worldwide other than the insanity that’s happening with the government and whatnot. However, today’s supposed to reach 70°, which means I’ll most likely be writing outside and drinking iced tea before Broadchurch this afternoon/tonight. Before I give you today’s song, I’ll give you a little background.

1992 is the year I was born

I’ve Googled “songs from 1992” and it was hard to choose. So many great tunes were released on my birth year. I’ve heard many of these songs, but I had no clue came out in ’92. There’s a great mix of the good, the cheesy, and the insane that are all iconic in their own right. To give you an idea of how difficult my decision was, here’s a handful of them:

  • “End of the Road” – Boyz II Men
  • “Beauty and the Beast” – Céline Dion & Peabo Bryson
  • “Reach Out I’ll Be There” “To Love Somebody,”  – Michael Bolton
  • “Remember the Time,” “Heal the World” – Michael Jackson
  • “Smells Like Teen Spirit” – Nirvana
  • “Under the Bridge” – Red Hot Chili Peppers
  • “Bohemian Rhapsody” – Queen
  • “I Will Always Love You” – Whitney Houston
  • “I’ll Be There” – Mariah Carey version
  • “Baby Got Back,” “Achy Breaky Heart,” Free Your Mind,” “Friday I’m In Love”

I think you get the point. There were a plethora of AMAZING songs in ’92. But this is the song I ended up choosing.

Jour 19: A song from the year you were born

queen selena

Selena Quintanilla is such an iconic Latina artist (who was gone way too soon, tragically murdered by someone she trusted at JUST 23) and despite not knowing Spanish , I enjoy and love her music. I understand why she’s such an influence in Latin music. She’s like the Beyoncé of Tejano music. “Como La Flor” is a great example of her talent, and it was her third charted song, peaking at #6 on the US Billboard Top Latin Songs.

Leave a Reply

