30 Day Music Challenge – Jour 19

Happy Tuesday everyone! Hope everyone had a lovely Monday yesterday. I did! I wrote outside and listened to Backstreet Boys all day—literally the entire discography because I’m making a BSB book tag, which I’ll post later today. As for today? Who knows what it’ll bring. Hopefully I won’t feel like crap and I’ll get a bit more writing done. This’ll be the fourth or something like that day that I’m working on this chapter, so it’s taking me some time. It’ll be tomorrow’s #WritingWednesday, so keep your eyes peeled for that!

Anyways, here’s today’s song. 19. Only eleven more days of this, guys! I’m gonna post all of these around midnight from now on just because why not?

Jour 19: A song that makes you think about life

dear life

It’s probably cheating for me to pick this song, but there’s a line in this song that really did make me question my existence the first time I listened to it.

Sometimes it hurts you/Maybe it’s a lesson learned

To bring my feet back to the Earth/To find what’s real

That verse in particular struck a chord with me and every time that part comes up, I’m like “wait, maybe there is a reason why I’m sad all the time.” Even in the chorus, she asks Life if she’s “doing it right.” Nobody really knows how to life life correctly. I definitely don’t. I always think I’m doing it wrong because I’m not where everyone else in my graduating class is (ie. jobs, relationships, etc.), and that always gets me down. But Delta Goodrem’s “Dear Life” is a beautiful ballad that makes you go into that existential state of mind. And as a sidenote, you should check out her music if you haven’t heard of her; she’s AMAZING!

Leave a Reply

