Backstreet Boys Book Tag

As you guys probably know by now, I’m a huge Backstreet Boys fan. I’ve stanned them since the ripe age of 6/7 (I’m not sure exactly which), so it’s been nearly twenty years since I fell in love with them. The Backstreet Boys were a huge part of my childhood, and just my life in general. They’re the reason why have an affinity for boy bands, and I doubt my love for them or that pocket of music will ever go away.

“We’ve Got It Goin’ On” was the first song I heard from them because my siblings and I saw the music video playing on Much Music (yeah, I remember THAT being a channel). I thought it was pretty cool—the music video and the song—and I kept my eyes and ears open for more music from them.

I remember back in the TRL days, they’d dominate. I even remember when their video was tied with N*Sync for the number one spot and the BSB girl got so upset for losing. That was truly iconic. I was with them through EVERYTHING since, even if I didn’t fully understand what was happening (basically all the dark moments). All I knew was that they were my favorite band. As I grew into my teen years, I stuck with them. Never Gone was the first album they released after a hiatus, following the widely successful Black & Blue. I was in 7th grade when it was out, and I remember getting excited the first time “Incomplete” was on the radio because THEY RETURNED.

Sidenote: Take That’s split after Robbie left the group, and they came back as a quartet strong. They inspired BSB to come back to music too. Thank goodness for Take That. who are also an amazing band. Seriously, their new album Wonderland has been played numerous times by your truly since it dropped on Friday.

Anyways, I grew up listening to the Backstreet Boys and I never really knew anyone else around my age who KTBSPA (keep the Backstreet pride alive) like me. It didn’t matter that nobody else understood my love for them since it seems like everyone fell out with them after Black & Blue. Now that I actually have a handful of friends who share this obsession—one being my class’s VP—I don’t feel as silly.

There’s no denying their influence in music. They’ve had so many iconic songs and moments, I don’t think ANYONE who grew up during their heyday can forget “I Want It That Way” or “The Call.” My life would be so different, and I owe it to them for giving me so much joy over the years. Seeing them on their 20th anniversary In A World Like This Tour was definitely a dream come true and highlight for me, especially since I kinda met Brian while my friends and I waited outside the venue.

As Nick sang in “Everybody (Backstreet’s Back)” – As long as there is music/We’ll be coming back again. And I definitely will KTBSPA until the day I day.

I’m surprised nobody has made a book tag inspired by their music yet, so here’s mine. I tried to use at least one song from every album, so here goes nothing. Feel free to give this a go if you want. I tag anyone who wants to do this. xx

we've got it

#1 We’ve Got It Goin’ On – a story about a fictional celebrity

hpotter

Harry Potter has been a household name in the Wizarding World since Voldemort killed his parents, so he’s basically the biggest celebrity there.

alaylm

#2 As Long As You Love Me – a story about star-crossed lovers

wuthering

Heathcliffe and Catherine Earnshaw. A lady and an orphan picked from the streets whose skin happens to have more melanin than everyone around him growing up. They were so meant for each other. No wonder she haunted him after she died.

errbody.gif

#3 Everybody (Backstreet’s Back) – your favorite sequel

always with

The delicious sequel to Billy and Me is such a heartwarming delight full of drama, heart, and a career-changing role. What’s more, Sophie May gets to finally met Billy Buskin’s parents in the flesh.

larger

#4 Larger Than Life – a book/series that was turned into a TV show/movie

Truth be told, I’ve never read the books, so I don’t know what is and isn’t true to the series. However, I was an avid GG watcher from season 2 to the finale. I remember binging the first season so I could be all caught up, and I’d watch it religiously. I definitely cried when it was all over, especially after hearing Kristen Bell recite these infamous words for the last time: You know you love me. XOXO, Gossip Girl.

 

show me

#5 Show Me The Meaning of Being Lonely – a book about overcoming grief

wild

Wild is a touching memoir about Strayed’s 1,100 mile hike on the Pacific West Trail as a way to cope with her grief and personal challenges. It’s touch a beautiful tale, and I highly recommend giving this a read.

#6 Get Another Boyfriend – A book with an abusive relationship

50S

I feel like I shouldn’t need to explain this because EVERYONE knows about this story’s plot by now. I mean, Christian  bribes her with lavish gifts so they can have a BDSM relationship, and despite everything, Ana is upset when she realizes they’re not compatible at the end of the book? Because you know, if you’re rich and can buy girls things, they’ll most likely be attracted to you. This story is basically highlighting that wealth and power can get you things—pretty girls, more like, and do whatever you like with them.

i still

#7 I Still… – A book where your ship wasn’t endgame/didn’t end together

nightingale

Isabelle and Gäetan should have grown old together, but she died shortly after being freed from concentration camp. Ugh, I was heartbroken when he approached Vianne at the end and they spoke about her.

incomplete

#8 Incomplete – a book that deserves a sequel/ended too soon

awtr

I think it’d be really interesting to see where Landon is a year or two after Jamie’s death and how she influenced him. I dunno. It ended perfectly, but I always had that thought in the back of my mind.

#9 Unsuspecting Sunday Afternoon – a book you thought you’d hate, but ended up loving

host

This is the first novel Stephanie Meyer released after Twilight. Of course I was hesitant, but I ended up really enjoying the story. It’s different, captivating, and has heart. I’ve never seen the movie, but I do think The Host is an interesting read.

stmh

#10 Straight Through My Heart – a book that hit you right in the feels (made you emotional)

exit

I’m still not over the ending because despite their romance deteriorating with time, Nadia and Saeed still managed to maintain their relationship. They’re so perfect for each other and they went through so much. I just have so many feels about this book.

#11 Permanent Stain – a book you loved growing up

redwall

The Red Wall series was one of my favorites. Brian Jacques created this magnificently magical word of the woodlands during medieval times and it’s just enchanting. I loved it more because the main characters were animals and pretty badass. I really want to go back and read these books again. It’s been ages!

bsbbb

#12 Show ‘Em What You’re Made Of – a coming of age novel

catcher

Ah, Salinger. If you had to read this in high school, you probably know about Catcher in the Rye‘s themes of angst and alienation. From a California institution, Holden recounts events that happened the previous December, painting a picture of what life as a teenager in the late 1940s was probably like. It’s such a classic and was censured for vulgarity and even banned in some schools. If that doesn’t sound like teenage angst done right, I don’t know what is.

 

 

Leave a Reply

