30 Day Music Challenge – Jour 20

Mid-week. It’s Wednesday!! So, I had a really down Tuesday and now my depression’s setting in, but I can hopefully manage. Look forward to today’s #WritingWednesday later today. Here’s today’s song

Jour 20: A song that has many meanings to you

all star

 Yeah…I choose Smash Mouth’s “All Star,” and I promise there’s a reason for this. This definitely isn’t lyrically deep, but it does hold sentimental value (I can’t believe I just wrote that ABOUT THIS SONG). You see, this was my class’ senior song. We could have gone for Semisonic’s “Closing Time,” but majority ruled for this song for goodness knows why. Anyways, with this song comes many memories from my senior year of high school—from writing and directing a ten minute one act to playing Diplomacy in my European History class, and senior follies. Besides reminiscing on that specific time in my life, this song was also thoroughly annoying to me just because when this song was released, I didn’t like Smash Mouth at the time. This was a really odd pick, but besides the fun of this song, I associate it more with high school and how that impacted my life.

Leave a Reply

