30 Day Music Challenge – Jour 22

Happy Friday everyone! It’s the very last day of March!! I can’t believe how fast this month has flown by; it’s absolutely ridiculous. Anyways, I hope everyone is starting off the weekend with something fun tonight. I really just want to stuff my face with ice cream and binge some Power Rangers tonight, so I might do that if I feel like I’ve written to satisfaction today. Look forward to the “10 Things That Made Me Happy” post later. Anyways, here’s today’s song!

Jour 22: A song that moves you forward

departures

It seems a little cliché to pick a song from a metalcore band, but I could have picked something more cliché than this—I have an arsenal of songs relating to depression and what not in my catalogue since most of what I listen to is alternative/punk rock music. When I first listened to Blessthefall’s most recent album To Those Left Behind, “Departures” really struck a chord with me. It’s a super current song, as the album was released in autumn 2015, but the melancholic tone in the music and hopeful lyrics resonate with me.

I’m doing this all on my own
Everyone else keeps passing me by
I float through this place all alone

Those lines in the first verse really hit me because that’s exactly what I feel like. While everyone else is being wonderful, I feel like I’m just here and trying to chase my dreams all alone because I don’t feel supported. But there’s the chorus, which is poetically depressing, yet positive:

I know it doesn’t feel like you’ll recover
Suffering that never goes away
But I’m here with you
So carry me through
Use me as a light to guide your way

Despite the darkness, it shows that there is light, and I think this song beautifully executes the balance between darkness and light. And that’s why it keeps me going. It’s a stunning song, and for those of you who aren’t a fan of metalcore music, this song is mostly clean singing, which means there isn’t a great deal of “shouting,” as most people who don’t appreciate the genre would call it.

Leave a Reply

