30 Day Music Challenge – Jour 25

First Monday of the month. Wow. Okay, so my laptop is being weird and not responding to the Internet at home, hence why this isn’t posted at midnight, but rather…nearly 1 PM. Whoops! Anyways, the Big Little Lies finale had me shook. Like…HOLY CRAP MAN!! I kinda had a hunch Perry would be Ziggy’s father, but the fact that the series lead up to Perry’s death was spectacular. I didn’t expect him to die that way, but at least Celeste doesn’t have to worry about him abusing her anymore and she can get Max sorted since he’s the one who’s been bullying Amabella.

Anyways, here’s today’s song.

Jour 25: A song by an artist no longer living

bobby darin

You know me by now—stray away from the cliché picks. I don’t know ANYONE my age who has ever heard of Bobby Darin, so I thought I’d go for him. Let me just tell you about this song. Bobby Darin’s version of “Mack The Knife” is THE definitive version of the song according to Mr. Frank Sinatra, himself. Yeah, it reached number one on the Billboard 100 and landed him a Grammy for Record of the Year. Dick Clark ironically advised Bobby to not record the song because he thought an opera song wouldn’t appeal to rock n’ roll fans. Well…how about that Grammy and a spot on Rolling Stone’s “500 Greatest Songs of All Time?” Dick Clark probably ate his word after that Grammy win.

A couple years ago, I dove more into big band and swing artists from the 50s and 60s—Bobby Darin happens to be one of my faves. “Splish Splash” is a great, fun song that you can sing and dance along to even when you’re not in the bath, and his version of “Softly as in a Morning Sunrise” is a great mix of light and shade. I think he’s one of the best from his era, and it sucks that more people don’t even know who he was or how he contributed to swing.

Leave a Reply

