30 Day Music Challenge – Jour 28

It’s Thursday, and boy has this been a crazy week for me emotionally. I’m trying to write the next AFYCSO chapter and type in my edits for Betrayed, so my mind is going insane. At least it’s nearly the weekend. Anyways, here’s today’s song.

Jour 28: A song by an artist with a voice you love

photo (3)

First, I’d like to point out that this screenshot isn’t from Spotify like all my other picks, but my iPod because his songs aren’t available in the US. Boo.

99.9% of you probably don’t know who Kendji Girac is. Well, he won The Voice France‘s third season and he is currently the biggest selling The Voice alumnus worldwide. He won two NRJ Awards—Breakthrough of the Year and Francophone Song of the Year for his debut single, a French/Spanish bilingual song called “Color Gitano.” His first self-titled album became certified Diamond in 2014 and became France’s second highest selling album that year after Stromæ’s Racine Carée. Oh, and what’s duet with Ariana Grande for a French version of “One Last Time?” Yeah, boy’s not doing too terribly.

I’m not surprised by his success. I just discovered him this year, and his The Voice blind audition would have had ANYONE sold that he’d be a massive star. His cover of Maître Gims’ “Bella” was served with a flamenco/Latin flair, which is his style of music and suits his voice to a T. This song, “Andalouse,” is one of my favorites and it was a single; I RARELY like singles more than non-singles!

Kenji’s only 22 and he has such a huge career ahead of him. I would so love to see him do a song with someone like Prince Royce or Becky G because that would expose him to more people and I dunno. It’d be pretty cool for him to do a Spanish/French song with one of them, or even a legend like Ricky Martin.

Leave a Reply

