4.15 SOTD

Besides writing, music is such a huge part of my life because without it, I most likely wouldn’t be alive, nor would I have the amazing friends I’ve gained over the past few years. I thoroughly enjoyed the 30 Day Music Challenge because you can learn a lot about someone just by the type of music they listen to. And so, I’m gonna continue to share my music taste with you on a daily basis for a Song of the Day(oh, joy!). Hopefully it’ll open your ears to artists you’ve never heard about and will grow to love.

O2

I absolutely ADORE Catfish and the Bottlemen, and this song is my favorite from their stupendous sophomore album. “Oxygen” has such an infectious beat and there’s this lyric that I really love:

She tends to obfuscate
When it’s black and white

You don’t often hear words like “obfuscate” in a song, but the imagery it presents is a strong sense of someone who blurs your vision—someone who sucks the life out of you. You do inhale oxygen to exhale carbon dioxide, so it’s fitting with the song.

Y’all should check them out if you haven’t. If you like indie/alternative music, you’ll love them. Even if that type of music isn’t your cup of tea, you should still give this song a listen.

Leave a Reply

