Nintendo Book Tag

Bonjour, tout le monde!

From this day on, Sundays will be book tag days, so I look forward to doing these each week just like my #WritingWednesday and Friday 10 Happy Things. Hopefully you’ll enjoy these as much as me.

I saw this on the lovely jessicamarie943′s blog and thought I’d give it a go. I grew up playing Nintendo games with my siblings. We wore the hell out of our Mario Party, Super Smash Bros, Donkey Kong 64, and Snow Board Kids games. Those were our favorites, and we were super competitive. We had nearly EVERY Nintendo consul, so the games were a huge part of my childhood.

Without further ado, let’s get started! Feel free to give this a go if you want.

NES

NES (Nintendo Entertainment System): A classic you want to read

infernoI’ve always told myself that I’d read Dante’s Inferno, but I never bothered to actually read it. I think it’s been going on for a few years—it started after I read the Dan Brown novel of the same name. I just need to go round to the shops or library, pick up a copy, and sit down and read it. I WILL read that book one day.

 

super nintend

SNES (Super Nintendo): A sequel you liked more than the first (can be the second in the series)

breakingI really should read more series…writing my own is heavily preventing me from reading these days, as is trying to get the first one published. Anyways, I’m going for Stephanie Meyer’s Breaking Dawn, the final book of the Twilight saga purely because I love the vampires’ backstory. I’ll say it again: THAT’S THE MOST INTERESTING PART OF THE ENTIRE SERIES!! I’d totally read books on each of the Cullens prior to their immortality.

 

n64

Nintendo 64: A book that revolutionize the way you look at the world

necatarThis book opened my eyes to so much in 10th grade. I remember reading it for my AP World Lit class and for some reason, it just touched me. I don’t know if it’s because Rukmani was married off to Nathan at just 12 years of age (YIKES!) or if it’s all of the hardships they managed to endure and still stay together, but Necter in a Sieve really made me think about how lucky majority of today’s societies have it compared to the times of colonialism and medieval times.

 

gamecube

Gamecube: A popular book that did not go over so well with you

paperDon’t hate me, but I genuinely DID NOT like Paper Towns. I finally came around to reading it and I just couldn’t finish it. I’m sorry, I just couldn’t deal with it.

 

wii

Wii: A new favorite book

are we smartReally digging Are We Smart Enough to Know How Smart Animals Are by Frans de Waal at the moment. As someone who studied biological sciences in college, I find it intriguing, and it really makes you think about how humans place themselves on this pedestal of knowledge when there are species whose intelligence is beyond what we can comprehend.

 

power

Nintendo Power: Favorite graphic novel series or series you want to start

ranmaI grew up on anime graphic novels and the Ranma 1/2 series has always been my favorite. I just love everything about the story, and I think it’s interesting that one person can be both genders in such a way as Ranma.

mario

Super Mario: A character you’d love to squish like a Goomba

jakeI’d really like to knock some sense into Jacob Black, which is essentially the same as squishing him, because what in tarnation, bro?!?!! I mean, Bella’s alright, but you didn’t have to create this unnecessary rivalry with Edward in the process. I just think his character could have been written better.

 

zelda

Zelda: A newer fantasy you consider a classic

Ugh, it’s topics like this that stump me because I don’t read that much fantasy/sci-fi!!! I genuinely have to skip this one simply due to the fact that I’m not as into the realm of fantasy novels as I probably should be. I’m sorry, but I’m being honest!!

 

samarus

Samarus-Aran: Favorite sci-fi novel or one you want to read

americanI’ve mentioned it countless of times that I don’t really read sci-fi novels, hence why I don’t have a response for the last section…oops. But I genuinely love Neil Gaiman’s work and American Gods. I’m so ready for the TV adaptation to air at the end of the month. Bring it!

 

pokemon

Pokémon: Book editions you want to collect

aogEveryone knows I’m a HUGE Anne of Green Gables fan. There’s no question about it. There are so many different cover that are all beautiful in their own right, that I’d love to have a massive AOGG collection. It IS my favorite series, after all. I don’t think there’d be much shame in it; my future husband will just have to deal.

 

dk

Donkey Kong: A book with original characters

watership“Original characters” is so broad, so it could mean a number of things, really. I’m going with Watership Down because it’s such an interesting take on an epic tale, using a group of rabbits to showcase religious symbolism (belief in El-ahrairah) and themes of heroism, exile, etc. which are usually used for humans. It’s just an amazing book, and I think it paved the path so much for animal stories.

 

ninten

Nintendo Fandom: Favorite Nintendo game(s) or game

No competition. These two for sure are my favorite and ironically are both on the N64, which happens to be my favorite Nintendo consul.

2 thoughts on “Nintendo Book Tag

Leave a Reply

