4. 17 SOTD

Happy Monday, everybody! Hope you all had a great Easter weekend. I will most likely be buying discounted Easter chocs and stuffing my face with that today as I type up edits. Sounds glamorous, I know. But hey, if chocs are on sale, it’s imperative to buy some!

Anyways, today’s SOTD is a little blast from the past. We’re heading back to the late 70’s with this one.

cars

Cars” by Gary Numan is such a tune, and it’s understandable why it was a massive hit. The synth and rhythm gives the song an infectious, psychedelic vibe that’s hard to NOT dance along to, while the lyrics are incredibly simplistic and relatable (given the security a car can bring to a person). It reached #1 in the UK and Canada, and rose to #9 on the Billboard Hot 100. Today, this song is considered a UK new wave staple.

I definitely bop to this song from time to time whenever I want to listen to something retro and a little different from what I usually listen to on a daily basis. It came up on shuffle yesterday, and I knew it had to be today’s SOTD because it’s such a smash.

 

Leave a Reply

