4.28: 8 Happy Things

Happy Friday, everybody! As you can see, we’re not quite back at ten, but the number of happy things per week is increasing, which I believe is a good sign. We have basically reached the end of April (THANK GOODNESS!) and you know how the saying goes: April showers bring May flowers. Here’s to hoping that May also gives us more happiness than April did.

It’s been an emotional roller coaster for me this week, but I’m not here to talk about the bad. This post is all about the good, so I won’t be a Debbie Downer and explain everything that went wrong. I feel like every week is an emotional rollercoaster…hmm.

Anyways, hope you enjoy the 8 things that made me happy this week. I’ll see you Sunday for another book tag!

xoxo F

#1 Outdoors writing

view

I’m definitely more of an outdoors than indoors person because I tend to feel trapped whenever I’m inside. I also get tired more easily when I’m indoors, which therefore decreases my motivation and energy to do things.

I live in Appalachia, so there are plenty of pretty outdoorsy places for me to wander off to to write. It definitely helps because there aren’t distractions—then again, nature can be distracting for me—and the fresh air does wonders to help me zone in and just let my pen run.

The picture above is from my Instagram and it’s the view of the little spot I tucked myself in front of when I wrote on Tuesday. This is directly across from a park, but it’s still secluded enough for nobody to bother me, and for me to just chill, enjoy the nice weather, and write.

#2 Swimming dog

pup

Whilst I was writing on Tuesday, a guy asked if it’d bother me if his dog could go for a little swim. It was really cordial of him to consider that I was using that spot for my working environment. Obviously, I said “no.” I didn’t take a picture because I didn’t want to be rude or anything, but seeing that puppy swim put a huge smile on my face. I swear, every time I see a puppy, an angel gets their wings or a unicorn is born.

#3 The Voice AU returns

the voice au

I know what you’re probably thinking. “How many The Voice shows does she watch?” The answer is three: The Voice Australia, France, and UK. Yeah, I don’t watch the US one even though I’m American…whoops. I’m currently watching the first two mentioned because The Voice UK ended like, a couple weeks ago for this year.

In its sixth series, The Voice Australia returned this week with returning coaches Delta Goodrem, Seal, and new coaches Boy George and Kelly Rowland searching for raw Australian talent. I absolutely love these four coaches together. They have such great banter and chemistry, they almost beat last year’s lineup (Ronan Keating, Jessie J and the Madden Bros w/ Goodrem).

Also, can I just point out the diversity? Love, love, LOVE IT! I’m already excited for this season. I can tell it’s gonna be great.

#4 Are We Smart Enough to Know How Smart Animals Are?

are we smart

I am a bonafide nerd. I know. Who leisurely reads a book like this? Well, I did study marine biology in school. My interest in animals has always been there. I just…wasn’t smart enough to go through with it (plus college is when I started getting depressed).

I love obviously love science; I am just horrible at absorbing the information in a dense setting. However, I found this book really fascinating and learned so much about how the cognition of various species. It’s a real eye opener for the behavioral sciences and stuffs the whole “only humans are smart enough for ______.”

I absolutely loved Are We Smart Enough to Know How Smart Animals Are? It’s probably the first bit of non-fiction I’ve read this year, and I’m glad I decided to give it a read. I saw it in the bookstore last week and the title immediately caught my eye. Little did I know I’d be reading and enjoying it so much.

#5 Finishing “Nails For Breakfast Tacks For Snacks”

I’ve been working on this chapter for the past couple weeks and I FINALLY managed to finish it on Wednesday. It feels so great to see the entire chapter written down. I push myself a lot when it comes to length, striving for a minimum of 3K words. I know that’s a lot, but it just makes me feel accomplished. This chapter was no exception. Thankfully it’s done, and now I can brainstorm what happens to Freddie and Élodie next.

#6 Great News

news

I initially watched this show for Nicole Richie because I love her so much and think she’s amazing, but I love the entire cast. I watched the premiere on Tuesday night and both episodes were HILARIOUS! But of course it is. Anything Tina Fey touches has to be funny. This might be my new favorite new comedy. I’m excited to watch more!

#7 Dancing With the Stars: Boy Bands vs. Girl Group night

I think this should be a theme every year from now on and have a member of a boy band or girl group guest judge. I am so glad Nick Carter came back on the show to judge for this. I was just happy to see him back on my screen, honestly. I think everyone did a great job with their dances, and I LOVED the boys vs. girls dances. The boys hands down won that one because they exemplified the true spirit of a boy band. The girls’ dance was definitely underwhelming considering the talent, but I like how they took us through the girl group evolution. Only downside was Heather and Maks being eliminated. She’s way  too good to have gone home—a definite contender—and Maks just came back after healing from an injury!!

  #8 M A N I A C announcement and “Young And Menace” release

Alright, you guys. The time has finally come for a new FOB era. I’m all for the purple aesthetic of M A N I A and I love the symbolism behind the album title. And knowing the creative minds of the band, I’m sure the album is gonna be bomb. Unfortunately, it’s releasing in September…THAT IS MONTHS AWAY!!

I love the direction they’re going with in “Young And Menace.” I don’t really know how to describe it or pin point a genre it could fit into because it can’t. It’s highly impossible to fit this song into a little category because it’s so different from what’s out there. You should definitely give it a listen, FOB fan or not. You have to at least appreciate the artistry behind it and Patrick’s voice.

Leave a Reply

