With Confidence Book Tag

It’s Sunday, which means it’s time for a book tag! I hope everyone’s had a lovely weekend.

Before we dive into the actual book tag, let me give you a little background on my discovery of With Confidence.

With Confidence is a “new” pop punk band from Sydney. I put that word in quotations because, although they signed with Hopeless Records last year, they’ve been around since 2012, so I hardly call them new. Five years is quite a while. Anyways, their song “Voldemort” was my SOTD on Thursday, so I gave you a little insight on how I discovered them in the intro to that.

I remember messaging her about wanting to hear new music, so she gave me a little list of Australian bands she thought I should check out; With Confidence was one of them. She didn’t just give me a list—she sent me Youtube links of songs for each band she thought I should listen to first. With Con released two EPs prior to being signed, and she sent links to the music video for “London Lights” and “I Will Never Wait.” I fell in love with them immediately. One listen to those songs, and I was hooked.

I ended up looking into both EPs—Youth and Distance, the latter of which was released a few months before Tiffany introduced me to them—and then their Youtube covers. Needless to say, I became a fan. And I’m glad I did. Tiffany was like a proud mom for showing me their music, and I shared her proud mom moment when they announced their signing to Hopeless and then joining Warped Tour. That’s HUGE for a lil’ Aussie band. You don’t see many Aussie bands make it out of the country with much success. INXS, 5 Seconds of Summer, and AC/DC are probably the most anyone’s heard unless you’re into the indie scene; there are a handful of Aussie indie bands I’ve heard of.

with conn

Their album Better Weather was also a proud mom moment for the both of us because we were like “they have made it.” Since being signed, they’ve toured the US and Europe. You could say it’s mind-blowing for us.

Right. Let’s move on to the book tag. Thanks for reading, hope you enjoy, and feel free to give this a go if you want! I’d love to see your picks!

ARCHERS – a story with a strong friendship

frog

The Frog and Toad books are such a classic. How could I NOT pick this? This book in particular kicked off the series, and I just love their friendship. I think my favorite section would have to be “Spring” because of the pure hilarity of Frog ripping Toad’s calendar just to admire the beauty of the spring season. Ahh, gotta love them.

GODZILLA – a book with monsters (imaginary or human)

frankinstein

You know how the story goes. Frankenstein is a top notch classic about one of the most iconic monsters in history, where scientist Victor Frankenstein creates a monster. Mary Shelley, I thank you for your genius combination of Romantic and Gothic elements, because it created one of the first true sci-fi novels.

I WILL NEVER WAIT – a book where the characters break the rules/go against society

Divergent_(book)_by_Veronica_Roth_US_Hardcover_2011

I’m usually a read-the-book-before-see-the-movie type of person, but I’ve truthfully never read the Divergent series. I know, it sounds horrible. I have seen the films and Tris definitely breaks boundaries in the social structure of post-apocalyptic Chicago. She doesn’t fit into a faction, and is therefore, a Divergent—an outlier in the social equation.

KEEPER – a book about mental illness

If-You-Feel-Too-Much-Jamie-Tworkowski

There are a number of books dealing with mental illness, and I doubt this is what jumps to people’s mind if they’re asked about such books. The author of If You Feel Too Much, Jamie Tworkowski, founded TWLOHA after writing a story for a friend who was suffering from self-harm and drug addiction. This story is a celebration of what it means to be human and contains stories of personal struggles to words of strength and encouragement. I read this book and it shifted my outlook on life because it made me feel like I wasn’t alone.

LONDON LIGHTS – a story with a long distance relationship (romantic or not)

geo

In The Geography of You and Me, Lucy and Owen meet after being stuck in their New York City apartment’s elevatory after a blackout and spend a night under the stars together. However, reality hits. Owen heads out West with his father and Lucy moves abroad with her parents. This is such a cute story and they continue their relationship through postcards, e-mails, and phone calls sent from wherever they are, and I melted. It’s such a deliciously romantic tale and yeah, you should give it a read if you haven’t.

LONG NIGHT – a couple you shipped, but didn’t end up together

nightingale

Still pressed that Isabelle and Gaëtan didn’t end up growing old together, but someone’s expected to die in a historical fiction novel. They were so great together and balanced each other so well. Ugh, if only Isabelle hadn’t died like a champ!

TAKE ME AWAY – a travel story

Eat,_Pray,_Love_–_Elizabeth_Gilbert,_2007

Whether you’ve seen the movie, read the book, or both, you probably know the story. Eat, Pray, Love takes you on a beautiful journey around the world about finding yourself. I love how each place is associated with each word: “Eat” in Italy, “Pray” in India, “Balance” ( probably a good thing this word isn’t included in the title. It wouldn’t be as catchy) in Indonesia, and “Love” in Brazil.

VOLDEMORT – a good vs. evil tale

deathly

The real question is: How could I NOT choose a Harry Potter book for “Voldemort?” I specifically chose Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows because this is where it all ends. This is where good prevails over evil in an epic showdown for the ages.

WE’LL BE OKAY – a book about hope

Walk_Two_Moons

Sharon Creech was one of my favorite authors growing up, and Walk Two Moons is such a great story about the hardship of life and overcoming obstacles. Sal and her mom go through so much, but there’s this sense of hope for them to be reuinted after Sal travels to Idaho to live with her grandparents. Truly touching, truly amazing.

 

2 thoughts on “With Confidence Book Tag

    1. I mean, you basically are one with them. You’re constantly in denial that they’ve become pretty well-known in the scene now and touring the world. But I feel ya.

      Like

Leave a Reply

