5.5: 10 Happy Things

Welcome to another Friday and another 10 Happy Things post! We’re finally back to ten and not a few off. I hope everyone’s first week of May has treated them well. It’s definitely gone better than all of last month for me.

What I’ve come to realize is that I should just focus on myself—my mentality is more important than anything else, and I still need to work on that. The littlest things can set me off and plummet my mood. And when I get sad, I tend to stay that mindset for the remainder of the day or much longer. Being sad all the time is so draining, too!!

Anyways, here are the 10 things that made me happy. I’d love to see more people do posts like this. It’s necessary to appreciate the little, odd things that make you smile because even if you have rough days (I have them A LOT), there’s always something that can make it slightly better.

xoxo – F

#1 My first YES

It’s common to be denied when you’re querying for someone to take a look at your work. Just like any other form of art, writing is subjective; not everyone will be interested in what you’ve written. So after 20-some declinations, I finally received a “yes.” I finally got someone to ask for a partial manuscript. I know there’s still another a step to the agent agreeing to take my book on board and represent me, but it’s something.

It makes me hopeful. The Exposed series is my baby and I’m currently in the middle of writing edits for the second book. The first one has finally reached 4.5K reads on Wattpad and the second reached 700 after I updated it last night. I just need to be more positive and have faith. I believe in this book, and hopefully she’s interested enough to read more.

 

#2 American Gods premiere

gods

Guys, the series premiere of American Gods was Sunday and OH MY WORD! Neil Gaiman is one of my favorite authors and having already read the book, I knew it’d be good. I didn’t know it’d be THIS good. One episode in, and I can already tell it’s doing the book justice. I loved the opening where they talked about the gods. I thought that was a brilliant intro to the story (but of course, it’s in the book!) and I thought it was pretty badass that Bilquis straight up swallowed that guy into her vagina. Like, WHAT?!?!!

I’m excited for the remainder of the series. Can’t wait for next week’s episode! This was my favorite bit of the premiere.

#3 Making History episode “Night Cream”

I freaking love Making History. I think it’s one of the best new comedies out there and Sunday’s episode was absolutely hilarious. I died at the above scene. That entrance scene of John Adams and John Hancock ride in with hover boards and as Dan played “Ridin’ Dirty” playing brought me to tears because it was that funny. I also love how Chris’ excuse for time traveling was being a sex addict, and I admire Deborah for her determination in making her ice cream parlor true to herself. What a great episode!

 

#4 Hiking

I fee like majority happened on Sunday, but I won’t apologize for that. I spent majority of my Sunday going on a hike. It was in the high 80s, so it was pretty scorching, but thank goodness for trees to keep me shaded and less overheated!! The initial path is 3.2 miles up from where I live, and I had to trek up many a hill, one being super steep near the beginning of the path that zig-zaged more uphill for a little. I was exhausted, got lost and went down the wrong path, and stepped in so much mud, but I did it and made it to that little ponded area and tried to write some edits for a few hours.

On the way back, I went down the wrong path, so I had to walk up an extra 0.3 miles to get back on track. In all, I probably walked over 7 miles. If it had been a flat path, it wouldn’t have been too bad. But with majority of the path being uphill, then winding my way through the forest to follow those red and white markers, it was quite the exercise. However, it was nice to just be away from humanity and enjoy the beauty of Mother Nature.

 

#5 Makes Me Sick – New Found Glory

Makes_Me_Sick_by_New_Found_Glory

I know this was released exactly last week, but I hadn’t listened to it before last week’s post was up. New Found Glory’s latest LP Makes Me Sick is an absolute smash of a punk rock record. I remember when the lead single “Happy Being Miserable” was released and really liking the track. I think it set a nice precursor to what the album is about, and it definitely lives up to NFG standards. I love it as a whole, and you should totally give it a listen if you’re into the whole punk rock stuff or just want to give the genre a go.

#6 New singles by the 1D boys

What a blessing it is that half of the One Direction boys released new singles on the same week. Harry gave us “Sweet Creature,” a beautiful acoustic-y track that’s sure to make you sigh and transport to…I dunno, a mellow place. And then there’s Niall’s “Slow Hands,” which was released yesterday. It’s quite a suggestive song and more up-tempo than “This Town,” which is a great contrast. I also love how their second releases went the other direction, Harry going for a more vocally-focused acoustic track whilst Niall went for a jam.

 

#7 Jimmy Kimmel’s son’s story

kimmel

I’ve sure everyone’s seen Jimmy Kimmel’s monologue on Monday about the birth of his son, Billy. The heart-wrenching detail of Billy’s cardiovascular condition, though, really hit home for me. I’ve never told anyone this and frankly, I don’t think anyone but my family knows, but I was born with the same heart disease as Jimmy’s son. I was reduced to tears when I saw the video because it reminded me of my state.

My parents are immigrants from Indonesia and they’re not the wealthiest of people; I wouldn’t be here if it weren’t for health care coverage. Jimmy’s seamless segue into the health care cuts was spoken from the heart as a concerned father, and he’s right. A newborn baby doesn’t ask to be born with any defects—it doesn’t ask to be born at all. It’s not JUST about Billy. It’s about human decency and looking after the future. A child shouldn’t die just because its parents can’t afford saving it.

AHCA has leverage and that’s frightening. I was born with a pre-existing condition, as I’ve just revealed, I have anxiety, depression, AND I’m female. But it’s not over until it’s over. In order for a bill to become law, it has to pass the senate with majority vote. As written, there’s not a chance. We just have to hope that majority of the senate keeps their views and it DOES NOT pass for the sake of America’s future or else our health care system is fucked.

#8 All Time Low performing “Dirty Laundry” on Late Night

atl

On Tuesday, All Time Low made their late night debut by playing “Dirty Laundry” on Late Night With Seth Meyers. It baffles me that they haven’t performed on a talk show before, and I felt really proud of them for finally ticking that off. Of course they smashed it; they ALWAYS kill their live performances. Even at the end before they cut to the credits, you could see Seth kinda going like “so this is your first time performing on something like this?” and they’re bobbing their heads like “yeah.” It’s just amazing how far they’ve come, and it makes me proud to be a Hustler.

#9 Betrayed editing

I basically spent the entire month of April doing anything BUT editing Betrayed. Needless to say, it was my worst month of the year. I strayed away from the Exposed series, even ripping my handwritten draft will all my editing notes scribbled in the margins, and started AFYCSO. But this week, I came back. I picked the papers out of the trash and dove straight back into it. I’ve written edits for three chapters, whether they’re just an additional paragraph or a section I completely re-wrote, and it felt good because as I mentioned earlier, the series is my baby.

 

#10 New PVRIS and Paramore songs

Do I apologize for more music-related things? Nah, not really. Pvris finally released a new song and Paramore dropped their second After Laughter teaser. I genuinely love both bands and I know this is more for Paramore, but a new sound can be  good; you just have to embrace it and stop being like “oh, this isn’t Paramore!” Because it IS and “Told You So” IS a tune, you’re just being a stuck-up prick about change. As for “Heaven,” it has me so stoked for Pvris’ sophomore album. I just know it’ll be amazing based on this song alone.

Leave a Reply

