The Playlist Shuffle Tag

I saw this on my friend Tiffany‘s blog and thought “why not give this a go?” From my 30 Day Music challenge, you’ve seen how eclectic my taste is. I figured I’d give this a go since I share my music taste on a daily basis, which is probably more than you’d want from a writer, but this is my blog, right?

So without further ado, here goes nothing!

Rules:

  • List the first 10 songs that come on shuffle.
  • Write your favorite lyric or verse from the song.

Wind in Our Sail – Weezer

wind

We got the wind in our sail
Like Darwin on the Beagle
Or Mendel experimenting with a pea
We got the wind in our sail
And we can do so many great things together, together

I absolutely love this chorus solely for the ecological references. I mean, I read Origin of Species and learned about Darwin and Mendel as a bio major in college and to see those referenced in a song is pretty neat.

Beyond the Sea – Bobby Darin

beyond

It’s far beyond the stars
It’s near beyond the moon
I know beyond a doubt
My heart will lead me there soon

Ugh, how many times can you describe love in a song and have it sound so poetic? This is my favorite verse from the entire song.

God Save Us All (Death to POP) – Sum 41

god save

Let me see you hold up your salute to the sky
While you sing it out, bleeding out your lungs till you die

I love this line. It’s a final cry to fight for what you believe is right, and that’s a beautiful thing.

Hard Times – Paramore

hard

Walking around
With my little rain cloud
Hanging over my head
And it ain’t coming down

I feel it. Like, this section is exactly what it feels like to live with depression. It just feels like some darkness is always lingering—a rain cloud is a good symbol for that because it’s just there and anticipates gloom and doom.

À l’équilibre – Fréro Delavega

l'equilibtre

La pluie tombait sur mes peurs, et tombait sur mon corps (J’suis resté!)
Faire le tour de mon île, y chasser mes démons

TRANSLATION:

The rain was falling on my fears, it was falling on my body (I stayed)
Go around my island, to hunt my demons there
This song sound so joyful and happy but like, this line is so dark?!?!! I love a good, dark lyric, and this sets the tone of the song’s story quite nicely. It’s just well said, you know?

LA River – Cold War Kids

la

This is an instrumental song, so I pretty much lucked out on this one. No lyrics here.

Gravity – With Confidence

gravity

I fight through to see tomorrow
Don’t get tired, don’t beg or borrow

“I relate.” That’s such a cliché thing to say, but it’s true. It’s just one of those lyrics that A LOT of people can relate to, and a bloody good one too.

Tear in My Heart – Twenty One Pilots

tear

I’m driving here I sit
Cursing my government
For not using my taxes to fill holes with more cement

There are a lot of really good lyrics in this song, but I chose this one solely because of the Ohio connection. They’re from Columbus, I’m from Athens. There are shit tons of pot holes in this town that don’t get fixed because taxes go to more “important” things than fixing roads. I feel it.

Boum Boum Boum – Mika

boumm

Un plus Un, ça fait toujours deux
Deux plus deux ça fait tout ce qu’on veut

TRANSLATION:

One plus one, always makes two/ Two plus two make all we want

I’d just like to point out that this song is about doing it. So…there really isn’t much for me to go off of, lyrically, but this one includes math. I love the Latin vibe of the song, though!

M.I.A. (feat. BoomBaDash) – Fedez

mia

Cuori in ceramica e pietra vulcanica
La nostra chimica è materia organica

TRANSLATION:

Ceramic hearts and volcanic stone
Our chemistry is organic matter

I think these lines are beautiful. I love the scientific metaphor and it gives me something tangible to refer to since you can’t physically see chemistry between two people. I think it’s the lil’ science nerd in me that’s like “YESS GEOLOGY AND CHEMISTRY!” I HATE chemistry; it was my worst class in high school and college. Y’all KNOW I had to go to translate for this since I don’t know Italian and it’s only the chorus that’s in English. Still a bop, though. Love the accordion in it!

As a little note, I’m surprised at how eclectic it turned out. I thought shuffle would go straight up punk rock because it usually sticks to one genre, but it branched out more than I thought it would. It’s still mostly in the vein of alternative/indie music, but there’s variety within the genre too.

Leave a Reply

