5.11 SOTD

Happy Thursday, everyone! It’s the second Eurovision semis today, and it’ll be really interesting to see who doesn’t make it through. I’m really pulling for Denmark and Ireland to make it. Romania and Israel have pretty dope songs, and I think the’ll be fine. I’ll just have to wait and see. And since I still can’t watch the performances from the actual Eurovision Youtube channel, I might have to wait until BBC has it up. Odd that I can watch it from there and not Eurovision.

Anyways, here’s today’s song of the day.

heroes

What can I say about Måns Zelmerlöw’s “Heroes?” This song won two years ago and it it such a bop!! Everyone thought Italy’s Il Volvo would win—not gonna lie, I was pulling for them too because their song was so beautiful—but he won fair and square and proved that Sweden is basically Euro pop royalty.

Like many of people outside of Sweden, I obviously had no clue who Måns was. But um, he won Swedish Idol back in ’05 and ironically auditioned with Enrique Iglesias’ “Hero.” Coincidence that ten years later, he’d be repping his country and winning with a song with basically the same title? That is pure fate right there.

Since Eurovision, I’ve been listening to his music and he’s become one of my favorite artists. It’s criminal that he’s not world renowned because he’s such a talent!

I remember watching his performance and going “SWEDEN IS SO HOT WOW!” Basically all of Tumblr and Twitter agreed with me. I mean…

mans

Oh, and the visuals were amazing.

We are the heroooooeeeesssss!!! I absolutely loved it and had him in my top 5; I at least got that right!

Leave a Reply

