5.21 SOTD

Ah, Sunday. The start of a new week. Hope everyone’s had a lovely weekend so far. It has been well humid out but even so, I’m probably gonna write outside today. I mean, might as well absorb some Vitamin D since we can’t make it ourselves and it’s made in the skin through a chemical reaction with the sun, right? See, I did learn something from my biology classes!

Anyways, here’s today’s song of the day. See you a little later for the book tag today!

alien

I have loved Cassadee Pope since her Hey Monday days and going with her on the journey to the singer of a pop rock band to a country singer has been amazing. I love both of her stuff and honestly, a great singer is a great singer. There’s a reason why she won The Voice Season 3.

I absolutely love “Alien” because I think a lot of people can see themselves in this song. This song is all about being the outsider—someone who doesn’t exactly fit into a certain category.

I think this is a very powerful and telling lyric:

there’s a lot of hands/Trying to mold you ’cause they think they can

It’s hard to grow up. It’s hard to be one’s true self when acceptance is all anyone wants. I love how this song points out that you don’t have to fit a certain stereotype or trap yourself in a bubble. It’s okay to be multi-dimensional.

What’s the point of fitting in?
‘Cause at some point, I know we’ve all been
Alien

Leave a Reply

