5.30 SOTD

Happy Tuesday, everyone! Hope everyone’s had a great Memorial Day yesterday. I went on a mini hike yesterday…in 80 degree heat…whilst fasting. Yeah, I’m an idiot. Anyways, here’s today’s song of the day.

attends

I’m sure everyone knows this song. It’s soared back into the charts after last week’s attack, and with great reason. There’s one line in particular in the chorus that now has a different meaning:

One last time/I need to be the one who takes you home.

However, 99% you probably don’t know this version exists (unless you live in France, of course). Ariana Grande’s “One Last Time” goes French with the addition of Kendji Girac, one of the nation’s current most popular artists. I’ve talked about Kendji before, so you guys know I love his voice and his style.

I think his French verses and chorus adds to the song, and his voice goes so well with Ariana’s. The original is great, but there’s just something about the bilingual factor that enhances the song’s appeal. Maybe I’m just biased because I like Kendji’s voice, or it’s the different narratives that both singers bring. I dunno. I’m a sucker for French anything, to be honest.

There’s also an Italian version with Fedez, and his verse is pretty dope. I don’t know what he says because he’s obviously rapping in Italian, but it’s so good. Y’all should listen to both versions and see what you think.

Leave a Reply

