The Classics Book Tag

Welcome to another Sunday book tag! I don’t know about you, but I thoroughly enjoy and hate doing these. I love book tags because it surprises me with the catalogue of books I’ve read or are discovering. At the same time, I feel so….under-read. Kinda makes me embarrassed as a writer that I’m not reading more contemporary or science fiction novels. However, these are building up a reading list that I most likely will never finish. Ah, such is the struggle!

Today’s book tag is all about classic books. Thankfully, this is a group of books I HAVE read a plethora of because for some reason, I tend to go for classics more than modern books. Maybe I’m just weird because I prefer classics…

Anyways, I found this book tag on itsabookword. I was browsing around and thought this would be interesting to do. Feel free to give it a go if you like.

Enjoy my answers, and I’ll see you on Wednesday for another Writing Wednesday!

xoxo – F

An over-hyped classic you really didn’t like:

moby dick

I recently tried to read it again, as the last time was junior year of high school, and just couldn’t do it. Sure it’s on every high school reading list and has action where needed, but the whaling information was too dense for me. That has to be saying something from someone who tried to study marine biology. I read up to the first whaling chapter and had to stop because I knew it’d just drone on from there.

Favorite time period to read about:

victorian

Hands down love reading about this time period! Majority of the historical fiction books I read coincidentally happen during the Victorian era. It’s just an amazing time period to dive into, especially with fashion and all the events leading up to WWI.

Favorite fairy-tale:

bamboo

I stumbled upon this Japanese tale narrative whilst researching for one of my 5SOS fan fictions, Night Writer.  It primarily details the life of a mysterious girl called Kaguya-hime, who was discovered as a baby inside the stalk of a glowing bamboo plant, who is actually the Moon princess.

Fun fact: Sailor Moon is inspired by this fairytale.

Which classic are you most embarrassed to not have read yet?

anna

I feel like everyone’s read Anna Karenina but me…I never had to read it in school, and I never bothered reading it for leisure.

Top 5 classics you would love to read (soon):

 

Favorite modern book/series based on a classic:

The BBC adaptation of Dumas’ classic tale is SO GOOD! I highly recommend you watch the series if you haven’t already. They did such a brilliant job of bringing the story to life while putting their own touch to the characters and story.

Favorite movie version/TV series based on a classic:

Vivian Leigh and Clark Gable are THE perfect Scarlett and Rhett. Since the book is over a thousand pages long, the film is obviously long to fit the story. I did take an afternoon to watch the entire thing once, and it’s brilliant. The costumes are to die for and the story is perfectly executed by the cast. Brilliant!!

Honorable Mention goes to the 2004 adaptation of Phantom of the Opera because Emmy Rossum was BORN to play Christine and Gerard Butler’s interpretation of Erik was shockingly amazing. I cried, okay.

 

Worst classic to movie adaptation:

Le Petit Prince is one of my all time favorite classics. I even have a French and English version of the book! I remember watching a clip my high school French class after we read the book and going WTF? I then looked it up and gave it a legit watch, and didn’t like it at all. The musicality of this 1974 adaptation ruined the story for me, and it’s just…not that great.

Favorite edition(s) you’d like to collect more classics from:

bnclassic

The Barnes & Nobles leather bound classics are just aesthetic. They’d look amazing on a shelf, and the covers are so unique and pretty. I want them all!

An under-hyped classic you’d recommend to everyone:

hunchback

Everyone has most likely seen the Disney adaptation, but how many people have ACTUALLY read The Hunchback of Notre Dame novel? I don’t know anyone who has.

I found it exciting to read about one of my favorite Disney films. The film hits key points in the novel and gives you taste of the story’s darkness, but my word does the book really get you! I understand if you don’t want the movie to be ruined by this version, but it’s gritty, full of action and suspense, and it’s a pretty easy read (I think).

Leave a Reply

