6.26 SOTD

Happy Monday, everyone! Hope you’re having  a great day so far. I can’t believe it’s the 20th anniversary of Harry Potter. Wow…kinda makes me feel old. Anyways, here’s today’s song of the day.

photo (10)

Lights released “Giants” as the teaser single for her new album/comic Skim&Earth on Friday, along with the music video for the song. I absolutely ADORE this song and the music video is one of the best I’ve seen in a while. The song takes place in the 5th volume of Skin&Earth, so Lights is literally teasing the story’s concept with this one.

“Giants” is, as cliché as it sounds, such a relatable song. I mean, the opening line is”

Are you tired of hanging around here?/Is it bringing you down?

That’s how A LOT of people, myself included, feel about their hometown. It’s a positive, hopeful song about branching out to somewhere that won’t limit you and your capabilities. I love the beginning of the chorus.

Where we could be giants
Bigger than the walls that hide us
Breaking all the laws of science

It’s such an amazing song, and the music video does it absolute justice. I can’t wait for the comic to be released so I can dive into Ehn’s story. “Giants” gave me a sneak into the world of Skin&Earth and now I want more. Definitely give it a listen and the music video a watch. I can’t praise Lights enough for her artistry because it’s so phenomenal!

 

 

Leave a Reply

