6.29 SOTD

It is Thursday and also the second to last day of June. Wow. The second half of 2017 is nearly upon us, guys. That’s insane. I swear the year was just beginning! Last night was the Younger season premiere and I am so glad it’s back. I’ll talk more about that tomorrow. But for now, here’s today’s song of the day.

photo (13)

It’s usually hard for me to pick a favorite song from each Panic! At The Disco album. That didn’t change for Death of a Bachelor. However, “Crazy=Genius” IS one of my faves from this album. Brendon said that Frank Sinatra is a huge influence, and it’s apparent in this song. The brass instruments really make this song come alive and give it a big band feel, but it’s STILL Panic! At The Disco to the very core.

It’s upbeat, has great lyrics, and you can’t help snapping your fingers along. I’m a huge fan of jazz/big band music, myself, and to hear that influence in this song was a surprising treat for me when I first listened to it last year. I don’t think I’ve ever skipped this song on shuffle, either. You know a song’s great if that never happens, and there are a few P!ATD songs I do skip over if I don’t feel them.

Anyways, “Crazy=Genius” is phenomenal. It’s a massively different number for an alternative artist, but the sound really pays off. Go give it a listen, and maybe you’ll like it too.

Leave a Reply

