6.30: Things that Made me Happy

Bonjour, and welcome to Friday! We made it, you guys! I don’t know if it’s just me, but this week has flown by swiftly. I honestly don’t know where the times went. Tomorrow is July, guys. How this year is halfway over is beyond me. So much has happened (worldwide mainly politically), and to think it all occurred within a 6 month times span is insane.

That gif makes me miss Gossip Girl…I loved that show!

Anyways, this has been a better week for me. I guess that was obvious when I returned, but it genuinely has. I’m not saying it was way better than the previous week, but I’m a little less detached and more present. I managed to move forward with Therapy for Souls and am happy with where the story is navigating. It’s always little things like that for me.

Here are the things that made me happy this week. I’ll see you Sunday for a book tag!

xoxo – F

 

eid

End of Ramadan

Like I’ve been saying all week, time is swiftly passing by. That’s exactly how I felt when Eid came around on Sunday. It felt like Ramadan happened in a matter of two weeks, not a month! It’s so weird, too. I’m trying to get better at eating during the day after all that fasting, but I still don’t eat that much. Although I’m glad Ramadan is over—boy, has it been a fast one!—I’m also sad it is at the same time. I just have mixed emotions; it’s weird.

Younger returned

Both of the shows I’ve been watching, Doctor Who and American Gods, ended on the same weekend, which means I’ve had nothing to watch since then. Okay, that’s a lie because I’ve been watching Big Brother UK, but that’s beside the point since it’s a relaity show. However, Younger returned on Wednesday with a whopper of a season premiere. Just like the Kelsey says in the first GIF: shit is SO about to go down.

At the end of season 3, Liza finally confronted Kelsey about her real age. In the beginning of the season 4 premiere, we see her confess her secret. Oooh, it’s gonna be an amazing season!! It’s hands down one of the best shows on telly right now (that’s not saying much, I guess, since I don’t watch much TV, especially American shows) and it’s so addictive! If you haven’t seen it before, definitely give the first season a watch. I guarantee it might be your next guilty pleasure. It IS made by the same people as Sex and the City

 

 

200 reads on TFS, 1K reads on Betrayed

I am notoriously hard on myself when my writing is involved. Every one of my (Internet) friends knows that. I’ve stopped worrying about reads and votes ages ago because I’ve accepted that most people don’t want to read stories with substance—fluffy cliché stories are more preferable than anything I’ve written. So when Betrayed reached 1,000 reads and Therapy for Souls reached 200 reads, I was genuinely shocked.

At this point, I’ve kinda given up on the Exposed series because to me, it doesn’t seem like something people would read. The actual reads on both have been lackluster, and TFS isn’t exactly receiving love either (probably because it low key deals with heavy topics like racism, identity, etc.).

Tomorrow is my 2 year anniversary on Wattpad. I may not have thousands of followers or people begging for the next chapter of any of my stories, but I’m proud of what I’ve accomplished and those milestones encourage me to keep doing what I love.

writing things

Joining a writing club

PSA: I am not much of a people person. I’m definitely one of the most introverted people I know, so for me to actually join this writing club that happens every other Tuesday at the public library is a pretty big deal for me. I’ve never shared any of my writing to “real life” people—all of my work is on paper & pen, Wattpad, and here. Basically the only people who have read my writing are you guys and the friends I’ve made on Wattpad. I’m genuinely anxious about my first meeting, but I know it’ll be a great experience for me. I do need to step out of my shell and own my writing; this is the perfect opportunity to do just that and meet fellow local writers.

 

autumnnn

Autumn-like weather

It’s been hella humid because global warming exists. For a few days, the weather has actually been agreeable and felt like late summer/early autumn. It was short-lived, but a nice change from the boiling temperatures of the previous week. Ugh, if only autumn could arrive now so my favorite season (weather-wise) can be around longer than for a few days!

Leave a Reply

