7.1 SOTD

It is Saturday, the first day of July, AND a long weekend. We’re being spoiled, aren’t we? It is also my two year Wattpad anniversary. I can’t believe I’ve been writing trash for that long. Most of the stuff I wrote in my first year is gone, but I’m not ashamed of them. I’m glad it’s given me the space to grow, and I continue to do so every day. Anyways, hope everyone has an amazing first day of the month! Here’s today’s song of the day.

photo (15)

Everyone thinks Russia is shady because of politics and whatnot, which is why they have such obstinate views of the country as a whole. I, on the other hand, like to look on the brighter side of Russia. For example, music.

Last year, I was introduced to the brilliantly talented triple threat that is Sergey Lazarev thanks to none other than Eurovision. He represented Russia last year with “You Are the Only One” and placed 3rd (he was a favorite to win, by the way). Since then, I’ve been digging into his discography and absolutely LOVING his music!

Today’s song, ” Это всё она” (“In My Lonely Life”) is one of my absolute favorites of Sergey’s. I’m not huge of whistles in songs; they’re usually off-putting for me. The intro immediately kicks of with the tune whistled, and it’s not cheesy at all. I personally think it adds character to a song that’s already fun and kinda flirty.

According to the translation, the song talks about a girl who is so captivating, you can’t help but be pulled in even if she’s disinterested and won’t give you the time of day. The music video is a great, cheeky interpretation of the song and helps any non-Russian speaker like myself understand the concept. Lazarev and his “geeky” friends spot this really gorgeous girl. Although they’re intimidated, they keep chasing after her. It’s cute, quirky, and brilliantly choreographed and produced.

I highly suggest looking this song/music video up on Youtube and giving it a listen/watch. I love it, and I hope this is a great introduction to his music for you guys!

Leave a Reply

