7.20 SOTD

Hello everybody! It’s been quite a somber day in the world of music, as Linkin Park’s frontman, Chester Bennington, has committed suicide. I’ve read so many wonderful tweets from band members about his influence and the topic, and it hit home for me. I’m debating on writing a lil’ something tomorrow in lieu of my “Happy Things” post because it hasn’t been a very happy past week for me.

Anyways, enough somberness. Here’s today’s song of the day.

FullSizeRender (1)

Delta Goodrem’s cover of The Darkness’ “I Believe in a Thing Called Love” is unreal. She strips it back to just a piano and her voice to expose the beauty of the song’s lyrics, which is heavily masked by the original flamboyance of crazy vocals and guitar riffs. Delta’s voice gives the song new life by bringing out its hauntingly romantic side. It’s simply STUNNING.

A fun fact: it’s her brother’s favorite song and she sang this version at his wedding.

You should definitely give this a listen. I promise Delta’s rendition will make you believe it isn’t the same song as the original. Sometimes when I listen to it, I can’t believe it. But that’s my two cents.

Leave a Reply

