McFly Book Tag

I haven’t been on here in the last few days. I know that. I’ve been feeling incredibly low and apathetic, but I couldn’t miss out on a Sunday book tag. So here I am feeling somewhat better, but not 100%. It might take a while for me to reach 70% at least.

Anyways, today’s book tag is the McFly Book Tag. McFly is one of the most successful pop-rock British bands of the past decade, and I’ve been a fan since I saw them in Just My Luck in ’06. Unfortunately, that was the US’ only exposure to the band, but I dug deeper and found that they had released two albums prior to the film—Room on the 3rd Floor and Wonderland.

large

Their smash hit “Five Colour in Her Hair” and “I’ve Got You” were featured in the film. Those two songs made me want to hear more. Fast forward about eleven years later, and here we are. It’s crazy to think that I’ve been supporting their music for that long, especially since they didn’t break America, but I’m glad my curiosity got the best of me.

Long story short, I’ve enjoyed their music. They’ve consistently pulled out amazing albums and singles, and their Anthology Tour proved that their discography is one for the books. They’re really hands-on with their songwriting and every other aspect of their music, and if you haven’t listened to them before, I think you really should give them a shot. They’re amazing.

Anyways, I found this book tag off of Juh Ciaro’s Youtube channel. You can see her responses right here. Hope you enjoy my responses. Feel free to give this on a shot if you want! See you Wednesday for another Writing Wednesday.

xx – F

all about youuu

All About You – a book with an easy-going romance

I don’t have a book for this one. Everything that comes to mind is they typical “fight for your lover” type of book. I can’t think of a story where a romance organically happens…

 

Broccoli – a book that talks about food or makes you hungry (describing foods, recipes, or going to a restaurant)

redwall

First, I’d like to point out that yes, McFly do have a song called “Broccoli.” It’s the last song on their first album.

The feasts in Redwall will definitely make you salivate. If you’ve read these books, you’ll understand what I’m talking about. They’re written with such detail that you feel like you’re attending the feasts as well.

Five Colors in Her Hair – a book with a quirky protagonist

matilda

She’s not the most typical kid out, is she? Matilda is anything but ordinary, but I’d rather be her than her drabby family. I absolutely love her and this story.

 

I’ll be Ok – a self-help book or a life lesson message

If-You-Feel-Too-Much-Jamie-Tworkowski

A great collection of stories on what it means to be human, TWLOHA founder Jamie Tworkowski compiles essays in If You Feel Too Much that include personal stories of people struggling on days most people celebrate, to words of encouragement and strength in moments of loss.

 

No Worries – a character who doesn’t care about what people say/a rebel

adventureshuck2

Huckleberry Finn is one of the most rebellious, “IDGAF” characters in literature. He’s such a free spirit and doesn’t care much for getting in trouble.

 

Party Girl – a book where the protagonist lives for parties

51NKgQUi4dL._SX330_BO1,204,203,200_

It’s all in the title. Written by magazine columnist Anna David, Party Girl tells the story of celebrity journalist Amelia Stone, the quintessential Hollywood party girl.

 

Please, Please – an erotic book

afterr

Some claim this is the 50SOG for the next generation. I hardly call that a compliment.

 

POV – a book with chapters that has alternating views between the characters

0075536668

Each section/chapter in The Sound and the Fury is narrated by a different character, starting from Benjy and ending with a third person omniscent focusing primarily on the Compson’s beloved servant, Dilsey. They’re all set in different days, but the same year excluding Quenin’s chapter, which is set 18 years earlier.

 

shine a light

Shine a Light – a character with a broken heart

tumblr_oieqvj0OWL1u76npoo1_500

I immediately thought of Wuthering Heights Heathcliff because his entire life was dedicated to Catherine and losing her drove him absolutely bonkers. Heathcliff could never have her because he was a mongrel, so she married another. She broke his heart with that marriage and eventually haunted it. His death at the end was probably the ultimate peace of mind for him because that meant he could finally be with the angel from his nightmare.

 

Sorry’s Not Good Enough – a book with treason in it

Red_Queen_(2010)

What’s a good historical fiction novel without a little treason? The Red Queen tells the story of Margaret Beaufort, mother of King Henry VII. Girl was married four times and basically hated her daughter-in-law, Elizabeth of York. We all know the royals back in the 15th Century were out for their family’s control of the nation, and marriage was key.

 

Star Girl – a book that explores other worlds and talks about ETs

76744

As you’re probably aware, I’m not huge on sci-fi novels. I had to think of something I knew that involves space and Star Trek seemed like one of the most obvious choice.

 

The End – the last book in a series that you miss

AnneOfIngleside

Yes, there are the three Rilla books, but Anne of Ingleside is the last novel in which Anne Shirley is the main character. I would have picked Deathly Hallows, but I’ve mentioned that book way too many times and need to give it a rest. Besides, my love for this series is apparent. Everything about this was perfect and jus—my heart when Gilbert surprises Anne with that anniversary gift. Ugh, ultimate OTP!

heart

The Heart Never Lies – a cliché romance novel

PridePrejudice423x630

As much as I LOVE Pride and Prejudice, it is quite cliché in the way that Elizabeth refuses to become the object of Mr. Darcy’s affection and finally gives in. I feel like any classic romance-based novel can be “cliché” in today’s standard.

 

Too Close For Comfort – a character who is always “friendzoned”

77351fdd-e03f-4575-832a-ca3050b30500

Simon Lewis from the Mortal Instruments series (yes, I chose movie Simon and not TV Simon because I absolutely adore Robert Sheehan) is Clary’s best friend and she NEVER got the hint that he’s had a crush on her for ages until he finally said it. So they dated for a bit in the series, but let’s be real, Clary was never interested in him as more than friends.

transylania

Transylvania – your favorite vampire book

tumblr_md6cl6dhmm1qd6pkuo8_500

The ULTIMATE vampire book is definitely Bram Stoker’s Dracula. It’s dark, keeps you on your toes, and the format of the story is absolutely brilliant. No vampire-related book can ever top this classic. I mean, how can anyone top the original vampire novel? I’ve read it about…five times? Yeah, that’s not too many reads if size that up with my AOGG read count. There’s nothing tacky about this story and the epistolary format is quite refreshing, even for a classic.

 

Leave a comment